Renaming partition? FOUND A SOLUTION #1 post

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by acfusion29, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I tried doing it in Windows, and in Leopard it doesn't let me.

    Is there a program that can do it, so instead of it saying Untitled, it says Windows HDD :)

    Pic below.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: FOUND A SOLUTION, EVEN WHEN YOU HAVE NTFS

    1. Go into Windows
    2. Right click on my computer>properties
    3. Find device manager (forgot which tab it's under)
    4. Go to disk drives
    5. Right click on the HDD and hit properties? (Something like that)
    6. Go threw each tab until you see something called "Populate" at the bottom, hit that and let the drives appear.
    7. Rename the partition, restart and go to Leopard and it will work :)

    How do I know this works?
    Well, I went into Windows, and restarted and went back into Leopard. My partition wasn't there :S So I went back INTO Windows, did the populate thing and booted back into Leopard and it's fine. You shouldn't have to rename it again, but you have to hit populate.

    So if you formated to NTFS (which is the smart thing to do cause Fat32 has a limit of 4GB or something), every time you go into Windows and back into Leopard, you need to populate in the properties.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Can you not do it through either Get Info or Disc Utility?

    TEG
     
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    If the partition is formatted in NTFS, you can't change its name in OS X, but if you change it in Windows it should show up correctly in OS X. Make sure when you change it in Windows you're changing the actual entry for the mounted volume in My Computer, not a shortcut somewhere else or something.
     
  4. acfusion29 thread starter macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    I'm looking threw it right now, not sure where to go. :confused: Can't find where to go to change it.

    In get info, it doesn't let me do it. It doesn't even let me select it.

    I tried, if I change the name then the drive disappears off my desktop.
     
  5. MAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I would love to figure this out too. Also, how were you able to change the icon for the win partition? Copying and pasting a png into "get info" isn't working for me:confused:
     
  6. acfusion29 thread starter macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    You have to select it so the icon outlines in blue (the one in the top left hand corner, not the huge one in the middle), then hit command V


    Edit: I went into windows and renamed it to Windows HDD. closed my computer, reopened it, and right clicked and made sure it was still the same. Then I went to device manager and went to disks, right clicked on the partition and made sure it was renamed there as well. Booted to Leopard and it's changed.
     
  7. MAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  8. acfusion29 thread starter macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    Did it work? I posted step by step off the top of my head in my first post.
     
  9. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #9
    I think I know why I can't change my Windows icon. My Windows partition is NTFS. I'm assuming yours is FAT32?
     
  10. GreyMatta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #10
    where did you get the icons from ?

    do they have them in pro ?

    Cheers
     
  11. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
    #11
    Thanks for the additional tip. I did not know that would work also.

    I ended up doing something a little different.

    While i was booted to Windows I simply right clicked (c:Windows) selected rename and choose the name of ".Windows" without the quotes and when I rebooted to OS X the volume showed as Windows. Then I removed it from the Desktop.
     
  12. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #12
    Here's an easier method.

    Boot into windows, goto my computer, right click on C drive, rename to something else. reboot into OSX, see you renamed drive.
     

Share This Page