Renaming startup options?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by FreakinSyco, May 25, 2007.

  1. FreakinSyco macrumors regular

    FreakinSyco

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #1
    When you first boot-up and hold the option key you get the nice graphical options of Macintosh HD or Windows. Is it possible to rename these options?

    Edit: Im on an Intel MacBook if it matters.
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
  3. FreakinSyco thread starter macrumors regular

    FreakinSyco

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #3
    Hey thanks a ton. Now my Mac HD has a better icon and name.. but I'm still having one issue. I cant mount the Ubuntu partition so how can I rename it or change its icon?
     
  4. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    For the Mac partition just rename it using the Get Info window.

    For Windows, you need to go into Windows and rename it from within a menu. I think you right-click My Computer and go properties.
     
  5. FreakinSyco thread starter macrumors regular

    FreakinSyco

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #5
    I guess I should have mentioned its not windows... its Ubuntu. I used bootcamp because of the nice graphical startup and ease of partitioning.
     
  6. hopejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    #6
    I guess for Ubuntu, just put the .VolumeIcon.icns file in /
     
  7. FreakinSyco thread starter macrumors regular

    FreakinSyco

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #7
    Sorry you lost me there... Can you go into more detail.
     
  8. hopejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    #8
    It just occurred to me, can an ext3 partition be seen by OS X? If so, you can put .VolumeIcon.icns in / so that the icon is different when it appears in OS X or in boot camp (no guarantee that'll work anyway), otherwise there's no point doing that.
     

Share This Page