Render artifacts seen regularly using MP6,1 with dual D700s

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bxs, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. bxs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Using Premiere CC 2014 I'm seeing on a regular basis weird rendered artifacts when exporting a timeline using OpenCL acceleration on my MP6,1 12core, 1TB SSD, 64GB RAM and Dual D700s. If I use CPU/software for the rendering these artifact are not seen.

    I've run the same Project for exporting the timeline on MP5,1 using Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 using OpenCL and Nvidia K5000(s) using CUDA and OpenCL and have never seen the same artifacts.

    I'm beginning to feel/sense that maybe the D700s in my MP6,1 are at fault or that the Adobe Premiere CC 2014 software is just is not compatible with the D700s or that there's some combination of software and hardware that is not playing well.

    Have others seen this issue I wonder ?

    The K5000s have ECC memory whereas the 7950 and D700s do not. Could this be the cause may be ?

    Not seeing the issuing using CPU/software for the rendering makes me think/suspect the D700s are causing the issue.

    This is frustrating for me as the MP6,1 is such a sweet system in all other regards. This one issue is really bothering me.

    Thanks for any advice. :)
     
  2. echoout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    Just throwing it out there that all is good with dual Titans in my flashed 4,1 using Premiere CC2014. Haven't seen anything weird. What's interesting is that after loving CS6, at NO point would CC EVER launch without crashing, and CC2014 works perfectly.

    Anyway, let us know what you find out!
     
  3. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #3
    ...............
    I recall some other post(s) not long ago about problems affecting the D700 but do not find at this moment where.
    Maybe the next 10.9.4 update resolves it.

    I know it is no consolation for you.
    However here you seem to have found out that you have only one address to deal with: Apple for the D700 and the software is not the problem.
    Owners of a PC with such a problem often need to deal with the manufacturer of the computer, the maker of the graphic card (if bought separately), the software making problems and finally Microsoft for the OS.
    They often play ping-pong with the user.
    At least this is the good side of Apple playing such a central role.
     
  4. pragmatous macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #4
    are you using 4k displays?

     
  5. bxs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    pragmatous: I'm using

    1) LG 34UM95 34" IPS Panorama UltraWide QHD Monitor 21:9 3440x1440 HDMI DP Thundervolt (using TB cable)

    2) 23" ACD with DVI-to-MDP.

    3) 46" TV via HDMI port.

    The LG is my main display for using Premiere Pro CC 2014.
     
  6. pragmatous macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #6
    I know there's a bug with OS X and 4k displays that causes artifacts.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6080897?tstart=0

    Is this what you're experiencing?

     
  7. bxs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    No... the issue is horizontal orange lines/streaking in rendered output using Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2014.
     
  8. pragmatous macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #8
    Hmm ... could be a software issue. Have you tried updating it? One of the GPU's could be bad too I suppose. That would be a call with apple.

    Let us know what you come up with.

     
  9. edgefox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    #9
    I experienced a similar issue with my 1mp6.1 with dual d700's only I was using davinci to export footage. I would get strange lines that looked like tracking lines from the VHS days when I rendered at full speed. When I slowed the export to two times real time there was no issue. I haven't attempted to replicate the problem figuring it was software, but perhaps it's apples hardware?
     
  10. bxs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    Solution...

    This is a FYI....

    Today I spent the whole day trying to sort this issue out for the new MacPro6,1 (12 core, 1TB PCIe SSD, Dual D700s, 64GB, LG's 21:9 Thunderbolt display, 23" ACD, 46" TV) running Adobe Premiere Pro 2014. The MacPro6,1 system was running the latest Apple Mac OS X 10.9.3 build 13D65.

    I've been plagued by these weird rendered artifacts as described by many in Adobe forums. The issue could be avoided by using software only for rendering, but of course this slows down the workflow significantly. To date have resorted to dealing with 2K projects on MP5,1 12 core, 2.93 GHz processors and Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 running 10.9.3 and Premiere Pro 2014. The rendering issues have not shown up using this MP5,1 running 10.9.3.

    Today I had the opportunity to pursue two options

    1) Reinstall 10.9.2 onto the MP6,1 from a full installer image file and then install all of Adobe software
    2) Upgrade a cloned copy of the MP6,1's 10.9.3 Build 13D65 to the 10.9.4 Build 13E25

    Since one of the Focus areas for the 10.9.4 is Graphics Drivers I thought this was the best option to try first.

    I cloned the MP6,1's 10.9.3 to a spare LaCie 2big RAID-0 test partition and then upgraded this to the 10.9.4 Build 13E25. I then ran some tests that always have shown the rendering issues on 10.9.3 to make sure the problem was exposed on 10.9.3 by his testing... and it was. None of the tests run under the 10.9.4 system showed the rendering issues, and the tests were run several times just to be sure.

    With this result I decided to partition the 1TB PCIe SSD in the MP6,1 into three sections. 1) 300 GB for 10.9.3, 2) 300 GB for 10.9.4 and 3) 400 GB TB for AE_Cache. Before doing this I made a clone of 10.9.3 to a spare partition on a LaCie 2big RAID-0 and used Time Machine to ensure I had current backup of the 10.9.3 system. I then repartitioned the 1TB SSD in the MP6,1. Using CCC I created 'Mavericks' Recovery HD partitions on the two 300 GB SSD partitions for 10.9.3 and 10.9.4. I then used SuperDuper! to Smart copy the saved 10.9.3 and 10.9.4 systems to their respective 300 GB PCIe SSD partitions.

    I setup to run SuperDuper! to clone 10.9.4 to a spare backup partition each day at around 12:30 am (systems are left running all the time). The idea was that 10.9.4 Build 13E25 was for time being going to serve as the production system. The 10.9.3 would simply act as a fallback if 10.9.4 proved unworthy.

    After all this, using the 10.9.4 system and the Premiere Pro 2014 the tests that gave rise to the rendering issues under 10.9.3 were run and absolutely no issues were encountered.

    So for time being I feel that using 10.9.4 Build 13E26 has indeed fixed/resolved the rendering issues encountered. Of course, time will tell if this is so.

    When Apple releases 10.9.4 to the general public it will be simply a matter of upgrading the 10.9.3 system to the officially 10.9.4 release. In the meantime use of the MP6,1 can now be used as originally intended.... that is, to get work done without the losing productivity to the weird rendering issues.
     

Share This Page