Reordering Spotlight Search Results

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by iFanaddic, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. iFanaddic macrumors 6502a

    iFanaddic

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #1
    Since i've been on iOS 10 I've started using Spotlight more and more, but I realized that most of my results are not in the order i want. I can't seem to be able to reorder them the way I did in previous iOS versions. Can anyone help?

    (I went to Settings >General >Spotlight Search)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Shawzborne macrumors 6502a

    Shawzborne

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
  3. iFanaddic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iFanaddic

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #3
    Oh really! OH well I guess it was notifications we could reorder then... what a bummer! Thanks
     
  4. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #4
    That is not true. You could do this before iOS 8. El Capitan lost this functionality as well.

    iOS-7-Spotlight-Setting-250x375.png
     
  5. iFanaddic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iFanaddic

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #5
    Haha! I knew it!

    Weird that Apple has left it out since it has an impact on the usability of the Spotlight feature. I guess that my chances of seeing it added back to iOS 10 are low since it wasn't in iOS 9 either. :(
     
  6. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #6
    It is unfortunately one of those obscure changes that Apple occasionally makes. They always quietly remove some useful features for seemly incomprehensible reasons.

    They also did not do anything to reduce the size of the list at Spotlight settings either. Only a few of my third-party apps actually support the Spotlight APIs, but the settings shows all apps regardless, even though they do not even appear in search results.
     
  7. boston04and07 macrumors 65816

    boston04and07

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #7
    I find this super annoying. This is something I've been requesting ever since it went away. It would be 10x more helpful to me if the web search button were at the top of the results instead of having to wade through everything else...
     

Share This Page