Repaired 27" iMac... Display is awful

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pictures, Feb 10, 2012.

1. pictures macrumors member

The hdd in my iMac was failing and the optical drive was broken. Still covered under AppleCare, I took part of the day off work to take the 1.5 hour drive (plus paid the $4 tolls) to take it to the nearest Apple Store earlier this week.

I happened to mention that there was a gray smudgy band running along the bottom of the display and they said, "oh we'll replace the screen, too.)

They managed to fix it by the next day and I went all the way back today to pick it up.

But the screen is awful, way worse than what it was. There are big smudgy swaths of gray. There is a vertical white line running down the right side, and it has widened and become two lines. And the bottom of the screen looks yellowish to me. :eek: I'm a photographer and artist, and this is totally unacceptable.

Also unacceptable is making another two or more trips to get the thing fixed. What can I do?

2. MacVibe macrumors regular

That sounds like a horrible experience. Lugging a 27" iMac around is not easy. Apple saves a lot of money on shipping by having customers bring in the iMacs. The good thing for the customer is the faster (typically) turnaround. I suggest another applecare appointment and check out the display with the techs before, and after, they fix it. As much as you may just want to get out of the store, it is probably a good idea to check out the computer with a tech before you leave to ensure it is fixed to your satisfaction. Good luck!

3. pictures thread starter macrumors member

I understand. It's just not easy for me to get to, it's not like I've got nothing to do all day. It takes several hours there and back.

It's pretty obviously visible, I'm wondering how they missed it.

This is probably the last iMac I'll ever buy.

4. ombrenelcielo macrumors regular

ombrenelcielo