Repairing a dropped MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kiddo86, Apr 25, 2008.

1. Kiddo86 macrumors member

I dropped my MBP today (about 10 minutes ago, actually) and so not to waste any time, I'm looking into my options for repair.

The damage is confined to the casing on the disc drive front corner, making it very hard to insert and remove discs. All internals, including the disc drive, are working as normal so far. The thin casing strip above the disc insert is just bent outward about .5 cm and the top casing is bent slightly downward on the corner.

Unless someone has another suggestion, I've narrowed my options to either taking the thing apart myself and trying to bend it back as best as I can or sending it into macservice.com. MacService's website says they will replace the bottom case for $350 and if I decided that I want the whole thing to look like new, I could also have the top case replaced for another $350. I'm a college student, so I have plenty of other things to be using my money on.

I've never dissected a laptop before... what would I be getting myself into if wanted to get at that corner to bend it back? I'm guessing all the components sit inside the bottom casing so I wouldn't actually be able to remove that part., but only take off the top.

2. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

DesignerOnMac

I would check other sites for the cover parts and do it yourself. Check eBay as well. I think $700.00 is a bit much for just the cases, but not sure.....

3. tersono macrumors 68000

tersono

You'll find a take-apart guide at iFixit. They can also supply parts if you need them.

You could either try to straighten out your existing case, or look at doing the replacement yourself - it depends on the extent of the damage, really.

4. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

I think you should be able to follow the iFixit guide, take off the top case, and then be able to bend the bottom case so disks will fit in.