repeat-y not working in my design

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by nicrose, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. nicrose macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #1
    Hi, I have a style set to a layer that goes like this:

    .prakrutitext {
    font-family: Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size: 16px;
    color: #666600;
    padding-right: 10px;
    padding-bottom: 10px;
    padding-left: 10px;
    margin: 50px;
    background-image: url(images/1040_bg_bergundy_strip.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-y;

    I don't understand why the little 5px by 1px background image will not
    extend all the way down to the bottom of the layer. In every layer that I
    have this style set to, it only goes down about 300px or so, then stops.
    I want it to extend all the way down the layer on the left-hand side.
    I have also tried to get a bergundy line going down the side by creating a
    5px left border, but that, too only goes down 300px. I've checked this
    in both safari and firefox and the same thing is happening in both.

    does any one know what I'm doing wrong.


    This is what I want: a layer of text with a 5 px bergundy line next to it
    on the left (padding of about 5 px between the line and the text).

    See below (the line would be solid, not broken like you see below):


    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,

    This is what I get instead:

    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    | text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,
    text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text, text,

    Ignore the indentation of the text above. All text would be aligned, no indents.

    Nicrose
     
  2. 2Sticky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Well you don't have a closing }

    That stood out to me....
     
  3. nicrose thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #3
    response



    no, i just didn't paste that into the thread. This is what it really looks like:

    .prakrutitext {
    font-family: Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size: 16px;
    color: #666600;
    padding-right: 10px;
    padding-bottom: 10px;
    padding-left: 10px;
    margin: 50px;
    background-image: url(images/1040_bg_bergundy_strip.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-y;
    }

    I used a 5px by 1px gif image for the repeat.
     
  4. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    Try to isolate where the problem is. Try out your CSS snippet on an otherwise empty page and style, and see if the repeat is working okay. If that goes fine, look into the rest of the structure for anything that may be defining a height like that, you may be accidentally inheriting something.
     
  5. nicrose thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #5
    thanks, meowbot

    Thanks, Meowbot, for the advice. I guess the original height that I had made the layer when I was building the home page was still there in the layer, even though I had lenghtened (vertically) the layer when I used it in the other pages. (I had saved-as the home page several times to use it as my template for other pages). I just erased the height, and the problem went away. Thanks!

    Nicrose
     

Share This Page