Replace 6970m with gtx680mx (query)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by inscrewtable, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. inscrewtable macrumors 68000

    inscrewtable

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    My gpu has died under applecare and i was wondering if a 680m will work as a replacement.
     
  2. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    If it's under AppleCare, you will get an exact replacement.

    And I will also hazard that the 680m probably wouldn't work as a replacement for 6970m in your iMac.
     
  4. inscrewtable thread starter macrumors 68000

    inscrewtable

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Yeah I know they do a like for like but if it was the same work then I'd pay the difference. I guess the drivers are in the software but I'm not sure how interchaneable are the.gpu's
     
  5. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Err...yeah...and that price difference would be the price of a 2012 iMac with a 680 gpu. :p
     
  6. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #6
    Have Apple replace the GPU under AppleCare, or ask them nicely whether you can get a replacement machine?

    If they say no, then let Apple repair your machine, sell it after .. then use the money toward the new 2012 iMac.
    Why risk the whole machine for something you don't know will work?

    Clean and simple, no?
     
  7. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #7
    No, its not about price difference but the internal layout is different. You will never have a 680 as a replacement for any pre late 2012 imac.
     
  8. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #8
    Agreed. Plus GTX 6 GPUs on the new iMac comes in BGA chip, not as MXM daughterboard just in Radeon a.k.a soldered on board.

    So it's not just about whether you're willing to pay the difference to Apple, but it's also impossible and not available.
     
  9. wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #9
    Well, there is a way to upgrade your graphic card, using a Thunderbolt-to-PCIe enclosure, which is currently windows-only.
     
  10. inscrewtable thread starter macrumors 68000

    inscrewtable

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Thanks, that is what i was wondering.
     
  11. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #11
    They have never offered altered options on repairs.
     

Share This Page