Replace a 2011 MMS with a maxed out 2013 MBA (for Logic)?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by vladobizik, Sep 4, 2013.

1. vladobizik, Sep 4, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013

vladobizik macrumors 6502

I am a prosumer musician (I do fairly professional music production, but not for a living) and for about the last 2 years, I have been using a quad-core Mac mini (server) for running Logic. It's a very potent computer for my needs, but I don't enjoy having to use a different computer when traveling and/or performing live (I have an older MBP for this). I would like to buy a good laptop to replace these two and decided that this year is the year.

The Mac mini is no performance demon, but for running Logic Pro X and various pretty demanding plug-ins (Kontakt, Omnisphere, Ozone 5, etc.) it is just about perfect (it chokes occasionally, but it's never a big deal). Therefore, my only criterion for the new laptop is that its performance has to be at least equal to the i7-2635QM powering my current machine.

I have been looking into to top of the line BTO MacBook Air with an i7-4650U. It's only a dual core machine with a relatively low clock speed. However, according to the CPUBoss comparison, it scores to just about break even compared to my current quad core:

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i7-4650U-vs-Intel-Core-i7-2635QM

Not to mention the awesome SSD speed versus my clunky old hard drive(s).

Do you think this machine will be alright for me and will power Logic and various plugins just fine or is it a terrible idea? My other option is obviously to wait for a MBP refresh which is just around the corner and then pick a machine that I can afford and suits my needs. A 13-inch MBP (ideally a rMBP) with the top CPU choice, albeit a dual core, will most likely fit the bill, then.

2. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

Boyd01