replace capacitor HD7970

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tracer1, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. tracer1 macrumors member

    tracer1

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    SC
    #1
    Have an ASUS Radeon HD7970 that I need to replace 2 capacitors. The capacitors are SMD with the wording as follows:
    E1D7
    150
    16v
    I have no idea what the E1D7 means. I assume the 150 is 150uf & 16v is volts. It appears to be aluminum with a partial light blue stripe on the top of the cap, which I think means negative side. Now to be honest, I am no electronics person but these are just guesses. What I would like to know does the replacement have to be identical to this? If so, where can I get them. I've looked on eBay but have no idea what to get since some are similar but not identical. If anyone with knowledge of these can shed some light on it, it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. Ph.D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #2
    Can you provide a photo?
     
  3. djjclark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #3
    try mouser or digikey to get a handle on likely manufacturer and then see if they have data sheets to match your part.
     
  4. tracer1 thread starter macrumors member

    tracer1

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    SC
  5. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #5
    Yes, those are 150 uf 16 volt SMD electrolytics. A replacement may not look exactly alike but there will be some sort of equivalent shading or marking. I don't recognize the exact brand (wild guess, maybe Nichicon) but I can't imagine that there is anything special about the specs for those caps.

    I agree with djjclark, try mouser or digikey for a replacement, and they may recognize the originals.

    Surface mount work isn't easy, are you farming out the actual replacement? I don't know too many non-electronics folks who have the tools for working with surface mount...not that it can't be done.
     
  6. Ph.D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #6
    I guess the missing ones are to the left of the "R47" part?

    You do want a minimum of 16V, but otherwise the value of the capacitors are probably not especially crucial (just get them in the ball-park), nor is the manufacturer.

    They are indeed surface mount. However, the tabs look pretty easy to solder using normal soldering techniques. The main problem will be finding parts that physically fit the surface mount lands. Careful measurements should be made to figure out the pad spacing, etc. You should also first remove the remaining bits of metal.

    If you are hard-pressed to find exact-fitting replacements, you could use normal leaded capacitors (ones with wires), making an effort to keep the length of the leads as short as possible. It will be ugly, but likely to work fine.

    Finally, if you are super desperate, it's possible that the board will work OK without them at all. But maybe you have tried that?
     
  7. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #7
    Also look for low ESR versions. And or the highest ripple current. It could be that they failed due to too much heating.
    To help search: goto Digikey.com. search "capacitor". Select "Aluminum Capacitors" or "Aluminum - Polymer Capacitor". Select 150uF for Capacitance, select 16V for voltage. Also select "in stock" check box. There's your short list.
    Hope that helps
     
  8. tracer1 thread starter macrumors member

    tracer1

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    SC
    #8
    Thanks guys, I appreciate all the info. I intend to do it myself, don't know where I could source it out. I just wanted to get the right capacitor so I wouldn't have to go through it again in case I got the wrong capacitor. They look to be Nichicon or Panasonic, there was just so many variables I didn't want to get the wrong ones. They are the ones near the R47. Haven't got around to removing the pins yet. These 2 appeared to be leaking near the base. Everything else looked fine. The board started working intermittently so I took it apart to check it. I will re-apply arctic 5 & new thermal pads, which I have. Hopefully it will work fine after that. Good video card, hate to lose it. Has always worked great & would handle anything you threw at it. If it doesn't work after this, will try & sell it for parts. Excellent condition otherwise, lol.
     

Share This Page