Replace MBP Logic Board with different model?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dgalvan123, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. dgalvan123 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #1
    Is it possible to replace a Macbook Pro Logic board with one from a slightly different model?

    More specifically:
    My logic board died (verified at Genius bar) in my 2009 Macbook Pro 17" 2.8 GHz, A1297, MC226LL/A.
    Repair through Apple would cost $600+ (to replace with the same exact logic board).

    Looking on eBay, I find I can buy a replacement logic board (exact same model) for $489, and then I could use iFixit to replace it myself. (have done multiple similar repairs in the past)
    However, there is also an option for a replacement logic board from the same year (Mid 2009) with the same model identifier (A1297), but it is a 3.06 GHz model. This higher-speed model is available for $400.

    Will the 3.06 GHz logic board work in my mac? If so I could save $89, and have a slightly upgraded mac.

    Here is the mac: I have:
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...o-2.8-aluminum-17-mid-2009-unibody-specs.html

    Here is the logic board I'm wondering will fit:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mid-2009-17...sh=item3abbc07850:g:TQYAAOSwa-dWnrnf#shpCntId
     
  2. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #2
    As long as the board with the faster processor comes with the cooling system. I can't be certain if the heatpipe is different to handle the higher heat output of the faster CPU.
     
  3. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Should do as both are boards from same generation
     
  4. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
  5. Willo34 macrumors regular

    Willo34

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
  6. dgalvan123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
  7. l.a.rossmann macrumors 65816

    l.a.rossmann

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #7
    Replace C7771. I explained the issue in this thread. Your machine is one that is affected by the same problem.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/random-restarts-kernel-panic.1955993/

    Here's a video on it.

    If your machine has 0.316v on C7771, then you have that problem.

    If you buy another board, you are just buying another board with the same cap that is the same age that will suffer the same problem. DO NOT BUY ANOTHER FAILING BOARD!

    At the very least, if you do buy another failing board, replace C7771 with a polymer film so the replacement board doesn't fail. It's a fairly straightforward swapout.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page