Replace old files after reinstalling Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by JarinS1, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. JarinS1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #1
    I want to do a clean "reinstall" of Vista on my MBP. I used the Windows application to backup my files on an external hard drive (they are all .zip files). After I reformat and reinstall Vista, how can I get my computer back to normal (ie files back in the same place they were)?
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    What Windows application did you use?

    Does it have a restore option?

    What files have you backed up?
     
  3. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #3
    I used Vista's "Backup and Restore" function.

    I backed up all of my personal files - Office docs, music, pictures, etc.

    The reason for doing this reinstall is as follows: I formatted the Boot Camp partition (25GB) in NFTS. The disk status says that 16GB (of the 25) are used, but only 300MB are available. I'm not sure where the other 9GB went. I have Vista, Office 2007, and roughly 750MB of personal files. That's it. When I first installed these items, the other 9GB were available.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    I imagine the "Backup and Restore" application will put the files back in place for you.

    It sounds like doing a reinstall might be overkill. Have you tried seeing what is taking up the space. There is a program called WinDirStat that will help.
     
  5. JarinS1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #5
    Thanks. I actually have used this program and it shows how the 16GB are allocated. The mystery is the 9GB that are not being used but also aren't available. My backup files total 12GB; I assume this is because they are compressed.

    Any other ideas? Thanks again.
     

Share This Page