Replace our Commodore Amiga with PowerPC Macinosh

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by froggytreafrogg, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. froggytreafrogg macrumors regular

    froggytreafrogg

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    Hi, I work at a TV station were we use a very old Commodore Amiga 200HD to insert a text scroll over graphics. However, the Amiga's graphics card is going out and is now losing color. I have a Power Mac 7500/100 that has the component and s-video inputs on the back. What I would like, is to be able to pass a video feed through the computer live as the Mac inserts a scroll of graphics. Can I pass a live video feed and insert graphics with this Mac? If so, what additional graphics card an software will i need. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :apple:
     
  2. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    As I remember no Mac from that period had an overlay genlock like the Amiga's did. Search on line for another Amiga. :) A4000 or A2000 Toaster systems can still be found and are pretty cheap I think. $400 or something like that.
     
  3. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #3
    Yeah you need the genlock and I believe only Amigas could do that in realtime.
     
  4. froggytreafrogg thread starter macrumors regular

    froggytreafrogg

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #4
    thats what i figured. thanks for the response.
     

Share This Page