Replaced broken iPhone at Apple Store, got a refurbished one in return?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Usodarake, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. Usodarake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #1
    My old iPhone had problems with its speakerphones so I went to my local Apple store and had it replaced. The guy at the store promptly got another iPhone out and replaced my SIM card into it and I was outta there in 15 minutes.

    I started using the iPhone right after I left and I noticed a few things that made me think my replacement was not new. First was that the battery was at around 60% when I first turned it on. Second, I never set a voicemail password before but now it prompts me to enter a password when I try to access my voicemail. I dont know the password so I still cant access it.

    Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Yes, but that doesn't mean it's refurbed. Battery capacity is all over the map on new units from 20% to 80% so that means squat. As for the VV password, it's probably something you provided AT&T at some point and forgot as I believe VV is tied to your account through your SIM card.
     
  3. boss1 macrumors 6502a

    boss1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #3
    yah, variance in battery life out of the box and VM password not being accepted doesn't mean it's a refurb unless it truly is someone elses VM PW being asked for. I doubt that's the case, if you have your SIM chip in there there should be no reason for the phone to prompt you for a VM PW for someone elses number.
     
  4. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    IIRC the VM password default is the last 4 of your number, unless you set up a different one.
     
  5. xA4Hx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #5
    Actually I was in the moves and thought I had to re-entry my password but it did something werid but I think it was because of me not connecting to ATT. I call and ask what the password was and after some communication and they reseting it , they told me the default is 10 digit phone number I am guessing only for the iphone.

    -illusion

    Ps. I know it usually is 4 digit number for most things , but I believe it might be 10 for this thing.
     

Share This Page