Replaced rMBP has wrong Graphics card

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LastZion, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #1
    Just want to share my story.

    Originally purchased 2.6 i7 rMBP, 512, 8gigs with 1gig NVIDIA (Refurb)

    All was great in the world and I loved my new computer.

    THen the price change came out and I called and they said to take advantage I would need to buy a new one and then send back my old one. Kinda of annoying (I just finally got my new one set up perfectly), but hey its a $300 difference, so no problem.

    New one came and it for some reason has the 512 NVIDIA instead of the 1 gig... so now I buy a 3rd one??? Calling APPLE to see what they say.

    BTW both came with Samsung displays :).

    Just wanted to warn people to check carefully when they get their refurbs!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Strange, since the 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display is not offered with a 512 MB dedicated/discrete GPU.

    [​IMG]

    And is the spelling of specs and gadgets in your signature voluntary or just a hiccup?

    RAM, iPad, iPhone, iPad mini and so on.
     
  3. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    As simsa said, a rMBP with 512 MB of RAM doesn't exist... officially. Did you maybe just look at the RAM used by the integrated GPU?
     
  4. RussellJones macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #4
    have u been on to system profiler and looked at graphics/displays, mine says 512mb on the about this mac, but is has the 650M when i go into system profiler.
     
  5. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #5
    Its the automatic graphic switching...

    I'm an idiot...

    There are 2 cards in the MBPs.

    The Intel one is built on the Mother Board... the NVIDIA is inserted on there.
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    I was about to point this out, but you beat me to it.
     
  7. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #7
    About the 2 graphic cards or that i am an idiot?? ;)
     
  8. Hungry&Foolish Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    Hey, if the hat fits!:cool:;)
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    The base configuration for the 15" rMBP comes with 512MB of VRAM.
     
  11. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #11
    No, that's the 15" non-retina. All of the 15" Retina models have 1GB of dedicated VRAM.
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Only the non Retina MBPs, the so-called "cMBPs" come with such a GPU, the 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display comes with a 1 GB GPU, see screenshot in post #2.
     
  13. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    I stand corrected.
     
  14. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #14
    You're right, I AM!!!

    haha :)
     

Share This Page