Replaced rMBP won't boot

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LastZion, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #1
    So I received my new computer yesterday, I set up as new all was good.

    Then I restored from time machine backup, again all was good.

    I then went to bed transferring over a large (200+ gig) file from my external USB.

    When I woke up computer would t wake from black screen.

    Finaly after trying everything I held power button.

    I first received "your computer was restarted because of problem..."

    That looped endlessly.

    I tried booting into safe mode, would just freeze after progress bar on a distorted apple.

    I tried booting into recovery mode, no luck.

    I reset pram, nothing.

    Any ideas? Thank you!
     
  2. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    You could try a SMC reset which is turn off the rMBP, attach power lead and hold down left hand side ctrl, alt and shift plus the power button for 10 seconds.

    Doesn't wound promising though, especially when you mention about the distorted Apple logo.
     
  3. Beecker macrumors member

    Beecker

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    What about completely blowing away the the MBPr? Restart and hold command and "R" at the sometime. From there I would use the disk utility and erase the HHD a few times... Then do a fresh install of the OS. Then try, try again and hopefully this does it.
     
  4. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #4
    I tried this, this is what I meant by booting into recovery mode. Doesn't work. Will try SMC and report back :/.
     
  5. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #5
    SMC didn't do anything.
    Now it just boots in an endless loop of chimes, then apple logo, then over and over again... any other ideas??
     
  6. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #6
    Clean install? Since it was a new machine plus your time machine backup, you won't lose anything except 1/2 hour to an hour of time. See if it works fine before you import your TM backup and again before your large file transfer.
     
  7. jamezr macrumors G3

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #7
    need more info...how big is your hard drive? You transferred a 200GB file.....that is a lot if your HD is a 256 SSD or similar.
    I think I would just do a complete reinstall.......erasing the whole disk just to be sure....
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Well there are two ways to this:
    1) Reinstall the system. Try the restore again. If it works it was just your previous restore. If not, you don't know if it's your back up or the hardware.
    2) Replace the machine right away. You can take hardware issues out of th equation. Retry the restore.

    I would go with the latter, but it's more of a hassle.
     
  9. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #9
    My HD IS 500 gigs

    I have no problem doing a clean resore. i just cant get that option up.

    So I guess I have to get a USB and load it with ML and boot to that?? From another computer?
    Because I can't even get into recovery mode.
     
  10. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #10
    So I got this screen.

    Tried to boot to Mac OS X (recovery USB)

    Didn't work.

    Thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #11
    Are you near an Apple Store? I'd have them take a look at it if the Restore Partition won't work.
     
  12. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #12
    Since the recovery partition won't work, use the internet recovery method.
     
  13. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #13
    You can't restore Leopard to a system that launched several years later.

    Either try the Internet Recovery, or bring it in to an Apple Store and let them fix it for you for free.
     
  14. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #14
    No luck. I get stuck at this distorted apple logo and then the loop continues again.

    All apple stores closed today due to a holiday in Ontario.

    Guess I have to wait until tomorrow.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Valkyre macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #15
    To the Apple Store it is my friend. Hope you get your problem fixed without unecessary hastle...
     
  16. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #16
    So just back from my hour long trip to the Apple Store.

    Got myself a new MBP. In the end it was the video card...


    Question: How do I know if it is one with the new 2013 chipset?

    THe good news is that I got a nice new box (aside from the generic refurb box). This will help as I buy and sell these MBP's each year.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  17. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #17
    About this Mac, you should see it read early 2013 or of it was a base model, a 2.4 CPU
     
  18. LastZion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #18
    Dang, mid 2012.

    2.6 GHZ...

    At least I was 3 for 3 with Samsung displays... wonder if they are even shipping the LG ones anymore...
     

Share This Page