Replacement 3G question....

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by psychotropic, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. psychotropic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    I just received an email notification that my replacement order from apple has been processed. The phone is supposed to be a brand new 3G replacement, but this is what the order notification says:

    IPHONE 3G S BLACK 16GB-USA

    I was wondering if the "S" stands for smartphone or if they messed up and are actually sending me the 3G S as in the new one.

    Thanks,
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Are you just kidding?
    They could be out of "brand new" phones to replace your 3G do you have to get a 3Gs.

    Consider it a free upgrade if that is the case.

    What was wrong with your 3G?
     
  3. psychotropic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    I'm not kidding, so I apologize for not understanding what you think I am kidding about. Nothing is wrong with my 3G in that I don't own a 3G. I own a 2G and after numerous problems and working with ATT and Apple they offered me a 3G to replace my 2G (as long as I would sign the waiver that my data plan would cost more). As far as if I have to get a 3GS, I never asked for a 3G or 3GS, I simply wanted a phone that would work.
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    OHHH So the 2G sucked bad and they're replacing it? I'm pretty certain you're getting a 3Gs then. The new stock on the iPhone 3G may either be non-existent at the capacity they intend to give you or they feel you've been through enough and it's Merry Christmas to you.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    It appears that you might have received an "upgrade" and so don't look a gift horse in the mouth.

    That is the wording I saw on my 32GB iPhone order (except it said 32 instead of 16 ;) )
     
  6. toxictrix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    oohhh thats nice. Let us know if it is a 3GS. Certainly seems that way.
     
  7. psychotropic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    If anyone who has read this post or reads this post has their original invoice for their 3GS purchase will you check and see if it has the product labeled:

    IPHONE 3G S BLACK 16GB-USA


    I think it's kinda weird that it has a space between the G and the S, but who knows?
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    As I stated in my post, that is the wording used for my 3GS except that mine had 32gb.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. psychotropic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Sorry! I completely read your post wrong, guess I am still in shock that this could even be a possibility. Haha. Thanks for your posts.
    :)
     
  10. macboy4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #10
    Awesome! I guess you had Apple Care?
     
  11. psychotropic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    No, actually I don't have Apple Care. I just called in June to explain to them the problems I was having and they sent me a refurbished 2G. Then, the refurbished had it's own (different) problem. I called in again, spoke to an AT&T rep, two apple reps, and a special team rep I think they called it, and here we are.
     
  12. Deadman64 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
  13. psychotropic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    Just thought I would let you all know that they actually sent me the Iphone 3GS!!!!!
     

Share This Page