Replacement iPhone 4 screens causes Light Proximity Sensor not to work!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by PZ1122, Jul 21, 2013.

1. PZ1122 macrumors newbie

I've been repairing iphone for over a year now just for family and friends and recently I repaired four iphone 4 screen replacements. Everything went good with the repairs but now realize that their light promixity sensor doesn't work. Someone please give me the straight forward answer to fix this problem. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO PLEASE. THANK YOU!!!

2. booster187 macrumors newbie

Ive been repairing iphones for a few years now but since like 5 weeks ago every sensor stopped working. Looks like an update or sumthing. The known fixes with foam coloring etc doesnt work either. Or im getting to old for this job or APPLE has a sneaky update.:D

Greetz

3. PZ1122 thread starter macrumors newbie

but i dont understand. the light sensor worked before i replaced the cracked screen.

4. Thierry ba macrumors 6502a

My iPhone4 replacement screen proximity sensor stopped working suddenly after year of working. It works when I apply presure on top of the screen, and it works in dark. How to fix it?

5. nihl macrumors newbie

I had exactly the same problem after repairing my iphone 4 screen.
    It seems that the original screen has some kind of foam isolating the light and proximity sensor (some users also say that aftermarket replacement screens are not as dark as they should be in the area above the sensors allowing too much light to pass through).
    So, the only way to fix the problem was to buy a couple of THESE stickers. For over a year now my phone works as it should.
    Moreover for jailbroken devices you can install from cydia calllock which does pretty much what it says... When you receive a call it locks your screen.

6. iRepairParts macrumors regular

iRepairParts