Replacement Iphones Sim locked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jdaco6, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #1
    Just wondering if anyone knows if replacement iphones (from apple) are sim locked? (e.g. the refurb units)

    My phone has just gone in for repair after a 'no signal' problem and they say they will be replacing it. I was wondering when the phone comes back will it know what network it is supposed to be on or could I activate it with an Orange sim or an O2 sim?

    Anyway hope you can help, the phone is an O2 3GS.

    Thanks.
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    Depends on what country it's being sent to. It'll be the same as your original.
     
  3. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #3
    Apple has 2 carriers in the UK Orange and O2 my phone was bought in the UK. I seem to remember another member of this forum saying that refurb ones can be used with all official carriers in that country can anyone confirm this?

    Thanks.
     
  4. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    It's not as simple as you seem to make out, there's no definite answer. My educated guess would be that they would give you an O2 Refurb iPhone, locked to O2 however, (it's complicated) when Orange began to sell the iPhone O2-locked iPhones like mine managed to gain signal using an Orange SIM upon a restore, leading us to believe that SIM lock is applied upon Restore of a UK iPhone, although both SIMs could be alternated without requiring another restore (for some, not all). However, the UK Apple store does still not sell Officially unlocked iPhones, they sell O2 or Orange-specific locked iPhones, but no-one has confirmed whether its just the same iPhone being locked to either network upon activation with iTunes.

    Therefore I'd say that what you said is a possibility but to be safe I'd just assume that the refurb you will receive will be O2-locked, but there's no harm in trying an Orange PayG SIM in before you activate, if you switch and the O2 SIM doesn't work, restore again and activate with the O2 SIM but just be careful! :)
     
  5. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #5
    As far as I'm aware your information is synced to Apple servers and then locked when you plug it in and sync it....
     
  6. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #6
    Thanks so much for your responce! I'll give it a try when it returns and let you guys know in that case.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #7
    I was under the impression that unlike most phones that simply require some kind of code to be entered numerically into the phone to release the lock, in apples case it was down to them to store the status of phones..

    Hence why whenever you restore a phone it still activates each time ... therefore if you take a phone into Apple thats unlocked legitimately then they should know that on their system based on IMEI number and therefore can update Apples systems to say the replacement handset is unlocked

    Everything thats been said has been that Apple control unlocking not the carriers - therefore i don't think you should have anything to worry about if its done officially
     
  8. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #8
    Intresting development, I just got a call asking if I would like to be offered a new iphone for 30 GBP to be sent out today to arrive on wednesday before UPS come and collect my old one.

    I agreed yes and asked about carriers and how they know what version to send, he replied 'That they don't and I just put my old sim in it and sync with itunes'.

    Anyway should have some answers by Wednesday or thursday.
     
  9. iconboy10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #9
    I can help answer your question on your unlocked phone status, as I've been through exactly what you’re going through.

    If your phone was officially unlocked by o2, then Apple will have a record on their database linked by your IMEI number.

    When Apple replace's your phone, they move you're profile from you existing iphone [iphone in repair] to the new iphone, it’s like for like, so if it were o2 locked, the new phone would come locked, if officially unlocked the new phone would come unlocked.

    You don’t not even have to explain yourself to the Apple genius, as it’s all done automatically when you book the phone in, you're warranty would also transfer across too.

    If you had purchased an Iphone from say Italy or Hong Kong, and were luckily enough for Apple care or Apple retail (UK) to swap out your phone then the same procedure (from above) would also apply this has happened to me long storey to explain..

    so all you guys out there with official UK unlocked iphones the above procedure will apply to you!
     
  10. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #10
    Thanks so much for your reply!! My only problem now is that I my old Iphone was still waiting to be unlocked by O2, will I have to re-apply?

    Thanks.
     
  11. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #11
    Update:

    Replacement Iphone arrived and it is re-locked to O2 only! Even though my original was unlocked officially via O2 by the person who I bought it off on contract back in August.

    I have called Apple and they are pointing the finger at O2 and they are pointing it back at Apple.

    I don't know what to do now, as my pay monthly Orange sim no longer works with my wonderful Iphone!!!

    Any help would be grateful.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    So your previous iphone was unlocked and you could use Orange but this on is only locked to O2?
    Probably an easier way would be to jailbreak and unlock it yourself.
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5886
     
  13. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #13
    This is correct, I really would prefer to go the official route. Can they unlock just by IMEI if I email someone high at O2?
     
  14. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #14
    You can try... did I misread or did you say you bought it off of someone? In other words maybe they can own an officially unlocked iPhone because they went through with their obligations on the contract and when it transferred hands that right was lost?
     
  15. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #15
    Yes you read that right, although if that was the case then any officially unlocked iphone sold in the future would be re-locked after sale which seems a little daft.
     
  16. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #16
    Waiting Game

    O2 have refused to re-unlock my replacement Iphone saying the IMEI is not one from their system as it is a replacement from Apple. Apple stated that they feel this is hugely unfair but they can't do anything about it as its O2 decision. Over the weekend I popped into the £ store and grabbed a 3G pay and go sim card activated and registered it, topped it up with £15, activated it in my iphone via itunes then filled in the unlock form on the website.

    3 questions.

    1) How long do you think it will take?
    2) Will they tell me if I get refused?
    3) Do you think this will work?

    Thanks :)
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Hope they take care of it for you.
    Do you have the previous iPhone serial number or imei to show them it was factory unlocked?
     
  18. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #18
    No, didn't record it which was silly of me!!!

    Thanks, I hope it all gets sorted too!!!
     
  19. jdaco6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #19
    If anyone could answer my questions I would be very grateful.


    1) How long do you think it will take?
    2) Will they tell me if I get refused?
    3) Do you think this will work?

    Thanks, Josh
     
  20. iconboy10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #20
    so was yours locked to o2 when you had the orginal iphone or was it in the process?

    Maybe it was jail broken, your post's does'nt make much sense?
     

Share This Page