replacement macbook..problem...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by desistyle, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. desistyle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    So I've been having some issues with my 3 week old macbook. I see graphic artifacts when using iMovie and playing flash games. My caps lock key is unresponsive sometimes and I've had battery issues.

    I went to the apple store to see a genius, and they offered to replace the machine with a new one. Problem is, I have 1.5 gb RAM (1x1 gig chip, 1x512 chip) and I left the original other 512 chip at my brothers place, who is out of the country.

    Unless I can get the original 1 gig of ram (512x2 chips), they won't accept the machine for a exchange with a new one. They will still send it in to have it fixed but i'd rather have a new one.

    Do you think that, if I take one 512 chip out and leave the current 1 gig chip, they'll even know? :):confused:
     
  2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #2
    Yeah. The moment someone checks the sys profile, they'll see it. And then retroactively charge you for it. I'll leave you to imagine how much in Apple dollars.
     
  3. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    Probably because they only have to look at 'About this Mac', but it's a sacrifice in my opinion.

    It might be easier buying a MATCHING 512MB off ebay or something (It will have to be the same make, model, etc just in case Apple check it).
     
  4. f1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #4
    Just get your computer repaired... don't stress over one stick of RAM. Whether your computer is repaired or replaced, it'll still be working at the end of the day anyways...
     
  5. desistyle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #5
    you're right f1. I'm just going to send it in. It just sucks having to do this 3 weeks after buying a brand new machine...
     
  6. joekix macrumors 6502

    joekix

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    earth, long beach CA to be exact
    #6
    if i could get a new one, i think i would rather have a new one. that's just me though. just the thought of my new computer being opened doesn't sound to thrilling to me. good luck!
     
  7. desistyle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #7
    I know but at this point I have no choice.....
     
  8. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #8
    a 512MB stick of RAM will cost about $10 off ebay, have a look.
     
  9. desistyle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #9
    But the genius bar guy told me I needed to bring it back in a day or two. I cant wait longer for chips off of ebay.
     
  10. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #10
    Once a lemon, always a lemon.... get rid of that thing. 512 ram is like $15 or so on rebate from several places like Best Buy and Circuit City. I'd pay $25-20 for a new MacBook.........
     
  11. desistyle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #11
    I found someone on craigslist which will sell me a 512 chip from their mac mini for $15!

    But, the brand is different. It's Nanya and the chips in mine are Hynix. Think it'll be a big deal?
     
  12. Paix247 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #12
    I have a few 512MB chips of that brand from my MacBook. I'll sell you one for $5 (ships from 55410). PM me if you want it.
     
  13. pianoplayer1 macrumors 6502

    pianoplayer1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #13

    I don't think that the brand shows up in system profiler, somebody else please confirm that?
     
  14. desistyle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #14
    yeah the brand definitely doesn't show up, i know that. But what are the chances of them opening it and seeing two different brand chips once it gets back to the factory?
     
  15. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #15
    By the time they do, you'll already have your new macbook :)
     

Share This Page