Replacing 17" MBP with Retina, worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Totty, Jun 24, 2012.

1. Totty macrumors member

First off, even without any further description of the 17", I know the answer to a reasonable, logical person. Not worth it. I am a pretty logical person, so I've already got that part nailed down. I'm really just trying to talk myself into replacing my current laptop. Details are that I have a very capable desktop PC for gaming, but I do use my laptop for some gaming (WoW and Diablo 3 would be enough). I enjoy the large screen space of the 17", so would probably run the Retina at least at 1650, if not 1920.

Current machine is Core 2 Duo, 4gb, SSD. So, the Retina would be a pretty good jump in performance, but the SSD in the 17" allows it to do quite well for day to day tasks. I am not a creative Pro user, I would be using the laptop for programming and some Diablo 3. The current machine handles Diablo 3 very poorly with its 9600m GPU, but again, I have the desktop PC I can use instead.

All that said, the current machine is ok for now for what I ask of it. I want to know if moving to the Retina will be a large enough jump in "pleasure of use" to make an upgrade worthwhile, or if that sweet spot won't be hit for another year or two.

Note: Just realized my sig is super old, so ignore the machine listed there. :D

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

You do have the option of picking up 2011 17" MBP in the refurb store.

I know a number of 17" MBP owners who are dissatisfied with the lack of 17" MBP. I think the 15" is a great is a option, but if you're attached to the 17" form factor you still can purchase one

3. Trey M macrumors 6502a

Trey M

Coming from a Core 2 Duo, you should notice a pretty big jump in performance, especially from intensive applications. And gaming should be a night and day difference- the rMBP runs diablo very well and I'd imagine it'd run wow even better.