Replacing 2012 Mini Hard drive without Logic Board tool

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by SimonUK5, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #1
    Is it a right pain to take the stock drive out and replace it with an SSD without the u-shaped tool? I've read that some people just pull the drive out at an angle?

    Anyone done it without the tool?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
  3. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    Twice in fact. If you just get two precision screw drivers and slide them into the holes you can do it without the tool. It's probably a little more difficult to deal with two tools instead of one, but I've done it with no issues.
     
  4. SimonUK5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #4
    The guide assumes you have the tool...

    @paulrbeers - Cheers! nice to know someone doesn't pay for iFixits/OWCs overpriced tools.
     
  5. El Hikaru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    #5
    I bought iFixit tool and arriving today.
    I know you are right but excited.
     
  6. hwojtek, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014

    hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #6
    I did exactly the same thing Paul did and found it fairly easy. However for the next time I will come prepared with a piece of hard wire bent to resemble the iFixit tool.
     
  7. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #7
    I did not use the U tool, but on Ebay, you buy the cable with all tools, gromets and U-bar for 25$ and free shipping. Can't worry much with that price.
     
  8. SimonUK5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #8
    just replacing the drive not adding a second, so don't need a kit.

    I'll just bend a coat hanger to the same shape.

    Thanks guys
     
  9. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #9
    i didn't think of a coat hanger :D neat... I used to drill bits that were the right size, and it worked like a charm :D
     
  10. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #10
    Why do you replace? Just add the second drive. Thought you had a very good reason to replace the HD, for a Mac Pro beating SSD Raid 0 config or so, but just replacing with another drive. That is waste of money, storage and time.
     
  11. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #11
    If you're just taking out and replacing the existing drive you don't need to move the logic board....search youtube, there are videos there showing how to do it.
     

Share This Page