Replacing 27" because of dead pixels do you lose all your settings?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by davidnssbm, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. davidnssbm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #1
    I have 1 dead pixel and it didn't bother me that much, but I recently turned off the screen to see smudges to clean it and there's a freaking gash behind the glass on the right side.

    I'm at day 13, so I want to bring it in to get it replaced, but my question is, will I lose all my settings? Can I back up my programs and everything to an external and just install them when I get the new replacement and it will be just like my old one?

    What about settings like my view settings in the finder and what not? How much will I have to redo.

    Also, I bought 16BG of third party ram. I will have to put back the old ram obviously, but I'm just wondering if there's anything I should know.

    Thanks
     
  2. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    You will lose your settings and programs, unless you back everything up to an external drive.

    I would recommend just doing a backup with time machine. That will back up everything (files, programs, settings, etc.). Then when you get the replacement computer, restore your files and settings from the external drive. (At some point during the setup process you will be asked if you want to restore from a time machine backup).

    I think it will even backup and restore your finder view settings. Can't be 100% sure as I've never done it, but I think it will.
     
  3. endi78 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #3
    I can confirm you that it will work!
    Already done that a couple of times, even if i recommend a fresh installation. In this case you can use your time machine backup to restore just your files and settings.
     
  4. Felias macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    I used a Firewire-Cable to transfer all (really everything) from my old Macbook Pro to the new iMac. I got 3 replacements before moving back to my old MBP for now. All the time i used the FW-cable to transfer everything.

    Worked perfectly flawlessly. I would hate to set everything up from scratch again. I'm having a mac for NOT having to hassle around with such things :)
     
  5. bolen macrumors 6502

    bolen

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    In my opinion this shouldn't be a problem since you should always keep your data backed up in case anything bad happens. What if you hard drive crashed out of the blue?
     
  6. davidnssbm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

Share This Page