Replacing a Jailbroken iPhone 3g without an AT&T account?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iPhonehelp123, Jul 13, 2009.

1. iPhonehelp123 macrumors newbie

Hey everyone, I'm new to the site and all but I have a lot of experience with iPhones and jailbreaking. But anyways I need some help, I've been thinking about getting my iPhone 3g replaced because I have this crack along the dock connecter and the phone is pretty scratched up.(The phone is fully functional though). I purchased my phone from ebay. At the moment my phone is running the 3.0 jailbreak firmware and I'm using Ultrasn0w in order for it to work with my carrier, T-Mobile. Can I bring it in for a replacement if I restore it?

Your help is appreciated,
    Jeff

2. Krafty macrumors 601

Krafty

Yes, but they may charge you if its not under warranty.

3. sam3020 macrumors 6502a

sam3020

Hello,

Is the iPhone in the US also available on pay as you go. If it is busy a AT&T pay as you go sim card. Then you should restore your phone and put that sim in. It should allow you to use with any AT&T sim and then take it back. I was lucky enough to not have any issues with i had an iphone 2g which i used a turbo sim on so i had no need for replacement of this phone.

Hope this helps

I even managed to get the apple store to swap my iphone 3g when i had 3.0 beta running on it so shouldnt be too difficult

4. iPhonehelp123 thread starter macrumors newbie

Wait but you can tell the phone has been dropped, even the bezel is scratched up and chipped a little. When I purchased the phone from ebay the corners had scuff marks.(I got jipped:'() The housing is really scratched up, there are even some strong marks that look it's been stabbed with a key.
    Do you guys still think I can do it?:/

5. Bodah macrumors regular

Why would Apple replace your phone? Because you dropped it, and don't like the cracks and scratches? How is that Apples fault?

If you want a new phone, go buy one, don't expect apple to replace it.