Replacing a PowerPC G5 Desktop

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wacomme, Dec 13, 2010.

1. wacomme macrumors regular

I love my G5, but I can run fewer and fewer programs so I need to upgrade to an Intel Mac. iMac are the logical choice, but I hate the glossy screen and I already have a wonderful 30" NEC monitor (dual-link connection). My desktop space is limited; two monitors will be too much. As a photographer, my processor and graphic intensive programs are Photoshop and Aperture. I web surf, email, and use MS Office programs often. I tend to have many programs open at once. I have a couple of eSATA external drives.

Frankly, the Mac Pros are just too expensive. I'll have to exchange the eSATA drives to firewire if I go the iMac direction, but that's ok. I'm also considering the Mac Mini or even a laptop, though I already have a Dell laptop from work that I use for portable usage. My concern with the mini is that it's not powerful enough, but I don't know. Ideally, I want a headless iMac with an i7 processor.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thank you. Michael

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

What's your budget? Is photographing part of your job? If photographing is just a hobby and you like to play around with computers, you could build a Hackintosh. That way you could get your dream Mac, i.e. a headless iMac for around 1000$ or so. If you don't want a Hackintosh, think about used Mac Pros or even refurbs if your budget allows. Older Mac Pros aren't that expensive and would satisfy your needs just fine

3. mstrze macrumors 68000

The highest-end Mac mini should be fine for your application. I have had no issues with running multiple apps and 'Handbraking' video in the background. It performs well. Plus, you have the nice monitor already...and a keyboard and mouse, so why not just do this upgrade for about $1000.

Plus, it's cheap enough to allow you to upgrade in the future without a big hit.