Replacing hard drive in new MacBook Pro.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PinkyMacGodess, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #1
    I saw on fixit.com the way to remove the hard drive from a macbook pro.

    Has anyone done it and had any problems doing it? Does the genius bar do hard drive upgrades if you bring in a new drive?

    I want to go to a Seagate 160...

    Thanks for comments...
     
  2. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #2
    Yeah, I've done it 15-20 times. Usually takes about 15 minutes. It isn't hard, just takes some time, a small screwdriver, and when you first do it, the ability to read directions :rolleyes:
     
  3. PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #3
    Well, real men don't read directions... :p

    I was referring to any changes as I got a newer C2D iMac and was expecting to open it for adding ram and found out that, No you don't... I did what I always did on the older imacs and almost had a real mess on my hands. Found the little cover. Like, what? Is it full of state secrets?

    Anyway, I was wondering if Apple pulled a changeroo on the drive replacement process...
     
  4. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #4
    I've changed mine (in my sig below) to a 200GB 7200rpm Hitachi drive. it took me about an hour because the screws in the MBP are super tiny which means you need a super tiny screwdriver and a T6 Torx driver.

    just be super careful not to strip out any screws along the way and you should be fine.
     
  5. Paulsan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Does changing it yourself void your warranty?
     
  6. Smurfed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #6
    nope, not if you don't break anything ;)
     
  7. crzdmniac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #7
    It's pretty easy to do, as long as you have a #00 phillips screw driver and a T6 torx. On the SR MBP the bluetooth is no longer next to the HD, so don't go looking like crazy for it. I swapped a 250GB Scorpio into mine.
     
  8. r88my macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #8
    I did it having never opened up a laptop before and as others have said its pretty straightforward, just make sure you have the right screws.
     
  9. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #9
    And make sure you get all of them out. I read about a guy on here that went to do the same thing, forgot to remove of the screws and bent his keyboard/topcase assembly, bent it hardcore. So, follow all the directions.
     
  10. 2fives macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey BC
    #10
    I just dropped a 250gig :) in mine a few days ago when I bought Leopard. The only problem I had was I rushed tightening the screws back up and ahad to undo it all to re tighten in the right sequence.

    What I'm saying is the latch didn't open easily. So what I had to do was tighten the two screws that are down inside the battery compartment by the latch. I tightened those first and all was good. It actually caused me quit a bit of grief and took me a while to do. But in my defence I went slow and steady and it was my first time.
     

Share This Page