Replacing HDD with SSD (Sata) in iMac late 2013

Discussion in 'iMac' started by LarsChristensen, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. LarsChristensen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #1
    Hi.

    So i ended up buying a new late 2013 iMac 27" with 1tb hdd.
    I want to replace the hdd with a Sandisk extreme 240Gb SSD.

    Is it "just" to remove the screen and simply disconnect the hdd and connect the SSD, using the same cable?

    And would there be any OSX issues (other than reinstall OSX) now that it is a new drive.

    Will it work?

    I later want to use boot camp on the same drive, that shouln't be an issue right..?

    All inputs are very welcome.

    Regards

    Lars Christensen
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    It should work just fine, assuming you have a 2.5" to 3.5" bracket to mount the drive. You'll be able to use it as any normal hard drive.
     
  3. LarsChristensen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #3
    Any idea if i'll be able to have both OSX and bootcamp on the same SSD?
    I'm not sure if it is capable of two different partitions (Mac OS Extended/MSfat) on same disk.

    -Lars
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    No problem, in fact Boot Camp Assistant will guide you through the process. Also, don't forget to enable TRIM in OS X for faster data transfer speeds.
     
  5. sancara macrumors newbie

    sancara

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Location:
    Argentina
    #5
    Sorry redheeler, the ssd came in 2,5"...i have to buy a box to "convert" it into 3,5". I want to make difference with my iMac :)
     
  6. sancara macrumors newbie

    sancara

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Location:
    Argentina
    #6
    Is this the bracket you talk about? i need it to mount the two drives or only the ssd one? (thinking about capacity, because if it would be only the ssd i have to buy a larger one haha)
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00G57BN1M...TF8&colid=3V5JKMSTE1ZRR&coliid=I24E6V3YKFH9HL

    This is what you talk about? i also have to change the sata cable for this?
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009GUXU52...TF8&colid=3V5JKMSTE1ZRR&coliid=I36FH8MFEDNZ34

    Sorry for asking but i'm from Argentina and need to change this buying things abroad :S
     
  7. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #7
    It should work just fine, although you're only going to be able to install the one SSD. You don't need to change the SATA cable, just use the one provided.
     

Share This Page