Replacing iMac internal hd with xbox 360 hd

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DonWrk, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. DonWrk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Is there any possible way this could work?
     
  2. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Well the iMac uses a 3.5" HD while the xbox uses 2.5". It could still work, but why not just buy a new HD? 2TB are cheap, 70 bucks.
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    Even if it fits, the first thing you will have to do is reformat it. You aren't thinking of actually trying to run xbox on Mac are you?
     
  4. DonWrk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    No not at all. My internal hd is dead and I have a 1tb external but I need to transfer my Mac hd to that so I was needing something to hold up so I could switch around and get a quick fix for now.

    The reason I'm saying xbox is because I have 2 that got the red ring of death so the hard drives have just been sitting there, was just seeing if I could put them to use to help out with my current problem.
     
  5. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #5
    Then put it in and try it.
    Make sure you secure it down
     
  6. DonWrk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Alright I'll give it a go. Also would it be ok to install os x on my external to use for now?
     
  7. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #7
    That's a messy question and I can't answer that.
     

Share This Page