Replacing iMac Memory

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iLikeMac, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. iLikeMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #1
    In the process of replacing the memory on my new iMac, I accidently put the 1GB piece back in rather than my 2nd 2GB piece. The problem is that there is no tab, either I was very foolish, and shoved the tab in with it? not sure how I could have done that... or there isn't one, which doesn't seem likely either. Anyways, does anyone know if there is a way i can get the 1GB stick out now?
     
  2. midtoad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #2
    Can you use a pair of needle-nose pliers to grab onto the memory card and pull it out?
     
  3. iLikeMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #3
    Probably, I'm just terrified that I will do damage to the computer.
     
  4. hardhatmac macrumors regular

    hardhatmac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Utah
    #4
    I can't see it damaging the computer....maybe the stick of ram.

    unless it's wedged in there in a weird way (I don't even think that's possible) then there's no way of damaging the computer just by pulling it out...
     
  5. iLikeMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #5
    I got it out!

    My ecstacy was shortlived once I realized that indeed it was a 2gig stick I had in there, I want to make sure it isn't damaged before I try to use it, so my last question is... can I just run the computer with 3gigs of RAM for now?
     
  6. hardhatmac macrumors regular

    hardhatmac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Utah

Share This Page