replacing imac's hardware

Discussion in 'iMac' started by codebreaker81, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. codebreaker81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #1
    my iMac is 21.5-inch Mid 2010

    here is the all configuration

    processor: 3,06 GHz Intel Core i3
    memory: 4 gb 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics: Atı Radeon Hd 4670 256 mb
    software: os x lion 10.7.1

    i want to upgrade my processor to an i7 extreme (if it cannot the normal one)
    and graphics card to a better model with 1 gb

    1)can i replace the processor(i won't the authorized sellers techicians will do it)

    2)can you give me some advice about what processor may i use(use play games too much i play battlefield fifa 12 so i need speed )

    3)and can i change the graphics card and can you recommend a graphics.

    thank you for your help:):):):):):)
     
  2. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Looks like you are actually looking for a gaming PC.
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
  5. codebreaker81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #5
    actually i am happy with my mac after that time i can't use any pc at all
    i just want to ask it because the hardwares are not soldered they are socketed so it is theorically possible so think like there is something wrong with my processor how will they change it???
     
  6. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    It depends on the socket type.
     
  7. codebreaker81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #7
    like you can replace it you can't change it or like you may change it with another type
     
  8. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #8
    Have a read of this, although it's the for the '09s.
     
  9. Smacky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #9
    They would replace the entire logic board. That's why it's hella expensive to repair a Mac when it's out of warranty
     

Share This Page