Replacing Logic Board, RAM, and HDD.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by seong, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #1
    :confused:
    Ok, I will start of with short story.
    I bought a Macbook 32 month ago and my sister's Macbook is 8 month old. I do some RAM eating tasks, and all she does is type, iChat, and research.
    I do Photoshop CS4, Keynote, multitasking, and some games.
    Well, the problem is, I have Intel GMA 950, and my sister has nVidia 9400m. She has 2GB of RAM and I have 1GB. And I know what you are going to ask me, and yes, these two Macbooks are the SAME MODEL, just bumped up specs.

    Ok, story over, and here is list of what you can do. Please answer as informative or short such as 'yes' or 'no'.

    1. Will I be able to swap Logic Board and RAM from two Macbooks?
    2. Will it be possible to just swap the HDD AND RAM and me and my sister will be able to keep all the same data, and I will be able to work on heavy multitasking and some good games?
     
  2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #2
    you can swap the HD's but not the memory, your 3 year old machine uses DDR2 and i think your sisters newer machine will be using DDR3, the logic boards cant be swapped either i dont think,
     
  3. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #3
    wow!

    wow, that was the FASTEST reply I've ever seen!
    Well, yeah, I think she uses the DDR3.
    So, if I just swap the HDD, and I use my sister's with my HDD and my sister uses mine with sister's HDD, is it going to work well will all my date kept?:D
     
  4. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #4
    it should do, cant think of any problems arising.
     
  5. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #5
    Thanks!

    Thank you very much!
    I will try to replace it in few hours and try to play Call Of Duty 4 and C&C 3 Tiberium Wars!
    Hope these games will run perfectly!
    And thanks again for the fast reply!
     
  6. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #6
    btw

    BTW, how do I change this 'Macrumors Newbie'?
    I might be even smarter than people joining just for hobby.
    My friend is.
    So do I just have to wait for the time to pass or can I edit it?
     
  7. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #7
    the newbie is your forum rank, it's based on post count lol
    to change it, post more ;)

    Forum user titles
     
  8. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #8
    Thaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnkkkkkkkkkkkssssssssssssssssss
    :D
     

Share This Page