Replacing mac pro 2012 for an IMAC 5K

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dtechlogic, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. dtechlogic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    Will it be a wise idea to replace my Mac pro for an Imac 5K. First will have to sell my Mac pro before buying it. I tend to use Adobe premiere, adobe Encore. Due to the reason that my canon C100 saves files in AVCHD. Someday I might switch to final cut pro x. Anyways here is my mac pro spec. Advice if it is a wise idea to switch to the Imac 5K.

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
    Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Number of Processors: 2
    Total Number of Cores: 12
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache (per Processor): 12 MB
    Memory: 32 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 5.86 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11
    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
     
  2. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Well, you'll get an absolutely fantastic screen, and a machine that is completely disposable after the components age and need upgraded. You can't touch the RAM, the SSD is soldered in, the GPU is hardly state of the art by today's standards (a mobile 290 or 295). If you ever do get a new computer down the line, it also lacks the ability to be used as a display only.

    So you'll get a machine that's pretty great right now, but prepare to just completely toss it and replace the whole thing when you want to upgrade. If that's okay with you, by all means jump in.
     
  3. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #3
    today I had the opportunity to play with an iMac 5K for about two hours. the massive resolution is impressive and I like it very, very much. but the screen being glossy is a big no-no for me. I can't stand the glare. also the fact that I can't upgrade the machine at all puts me off. sitting again in front of my MacPro 5,1 running on a hexacore 3.46 GHz CPU, I don't miss anything. I consider getting a 4k display though... I'll keep the Mac Pro.
     
  4. flat five macrumors 603

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #4
    neither of these are true.. the RAM is easily replaceable.. the drive isn't soldered in.. a user can change both the drive and cpu if desired

    https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iMac+Intel+27-Inch+Retina+5K+Display+Teardown/30260

     
  5. gugy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #5
    The glare is a problem. Where I work is bright with many windows all over. It would be a pain to see all the reflections.
    I like bright environments and that's why I love my ACDs matte screen. I wish Apple brought those back.
    But the 5k display is indeed tempting.

    http://macperformanceguide.com has been putting some reviews of the RiMac.

    ----------

    My computer is somewhat similar to yours but I am holding on it for now. I like the 5k display very much but I am not sure I want an AIO solution. I like to keep my monitors for long time and the MacPro has a better resale value and last longer than iMacs.
     
  6. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #6
    I think what you have is better than the new iMac. 12 cores v. 4 cores is a big advantage. If you need more performance, get faster storage.. Just use two 27" displays if you need the screen space.
     
  7. flat five macrumors 603

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #7
    wait until os x no longer supports the model.. that's the right time to replace macs.
     
  8. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #8
    You are right. I will wait until the life cycle off my Mac pro is over. It performs flawlessly. I just need to update an hd to sdd my main drive. I guess maybe it just an impulse buy that I might regret. Will my gtx 680 work with a 4k monitor? Right now I am using an oversea monitor similar to the Cinema Display resolution.
     
  9. gugy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #9
    Yep. The MacPro performance is faster than the riMac.
    I did the "Sticky: 'Real World' Photoshop Benchmark - Speed Test" and I've got 8.78sec against another user with the 5k iMac at 10.9sec.
    I know this is not a super scientific test but it shows the classic MacPro still a heck of a Machine (even the older models like my from 2010).

    ----------

    Yep, get a SSD. I have one for my system and it's great. I am getting another one just for Photoshop files and scratch disk. Also loads of RAM helps a lot.
     
  10. Tom-Create-Pro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Personally I'd stick with the 5, 1, upgrade to a PCI-E SSD/Flash storage and also perhaps upgrade your CPU. Then grab yourself a 4K monitor if that's important.
     
  11. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #11
    I think it's best to stick to your Mac Pro tower. Note that the 5k iMac is still a new technology hardware and we are not sure if there are bugs or glitches. The iMac section in this forum discusses more feedbacks on the 5k model. There is also a thread on some who received their orders are encountering backlit bleeding problems and had to return their purchases for replacements. We are not certain yet on the heat management for long hours of usage. Cost and software and OS compatibility also comes into play. With your classic Mac Pro you can also switch back to Mavericks/ML until Yosemite becomes stable.
     
  12. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #12
    I am Switching back to Mavericks. Bluetooth icon is missing on my mac pro in Yosemite. Also I am thinking of purchasing a MacBook pro. My coworker is selling his 15" MacBook pro i7 512GB SSD with 16GB rams. for 1650.00 or it is worth just buying a brand new one.
     
  13. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #13

Share This Page