Replacing Macbook Pro with Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hsj2011, Aug 13, 2011.

1. hsj2011 macrumors regular

Hey guys, looking for some advice please.

I've currently got a 15" Aluminium Macbook Pro (Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz). It's one of the previous design models (pre Unibody) and has the 8600M GT and a 1440x900 LED Glossy Screen.

I currently take my macbook pro with me to work as I'm a web developer and work still use Windows XP. I started to find the Macbook Pro quite slow so stuck an SSD in it which gave it a good boost but I've quickly managed to fill the 80GB SSD and can't justify buying a larger one considering the laptop only uses SATA 1.

So... what I'm thinking is should I sell it and use the money I get for it to buy a base Mac Mini?

What will the performance of the Mac Mini be like in comparison to the Macbook Pro?

Thanks

2. rbrian macrumors 6502a

rbrian

http://www.macrumors.com/2011/07/21/new-mac-mini-benchmarks-show-significant-performance-gains/

The new Mac minis are amazingly fast, and will blow your old MacBook Pro out of the water without breaking sweat. However, the hard drives are still slow, so if that was your bottleneck, you won't see much gain.

A better fit might be a 13" MacBook Air, it has the same screen resolution as your current machine in a much smaller package, is available with a 256GB SSD, and has a much faster processor.

3. hsj2011, Aug 13, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011

hsj2011 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the reply.

The idea behind replacing my MBP with a Mini was purely because it shouldn't cost me anything (I'll get around £500 for my MBP and a new Mini can be got from the HE store for £476) whereas the base 13" Macbook Air is more than double that so really isn't an option.