Replacing MacPro Video Card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RogersDA, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. RogersDA macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2008 Mac Pro 2x2 GHz Quad core, 12 GB RAM (800MHz DDR2) running OS 10.6.6, and an NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT PCIe card. As far as I can tell this card is located in the PCIe slot 1 (x16), which is the PCIe 2.0 slot.

    I am considering replacing this card with the ATI Radeon 5770 1 GB PCIe card along with an Apple 27" display.

    Amazon's site states that this particular card "[r]equires MacPro (Mid 2010 with 1333MHz DDR3 memory) with PCI Express 2.0 slot; Mac OS X v10.6.4 or later".

    Is that right? Does this card really need a 2010 MacPro with 1333 MHz Ram?
     
  2. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  4. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #4
    I recently fitted at 5870 to my 08 Mac Pro, the only minor annoyance was the heatsink just to the left of the PCIe slots. This stops the PCIe slot clip from closing, with force you could probably make it close, but it'll be putting a lot of pressure on the logicboard.

    As far as I can tell the 5770 is the same size in all but length.

    Of course, I could be missing something, but it seems this could be why it's not officially supported, as the software works fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    Hmmm. I don't recall having this issue..
     
  6. RogersDA thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
  7. Standard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I'm interested in putting this into my 2008 Mac Pro as well.

    How is the installation? Is flashing difficult?
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
  9. RogersDA thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #9
    Flashing the firmware to make it compatible with Snow Leopard I presume? If so that is generally pretty straight-forward stuff isn't it? At least I would assume so as I have not had any issues flashing hardware on the Mac.
     
  10. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #10
    Seeing the heatsink proximity I checked my Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X card, it doesn't seem to sit as close and would possibly be a better choice. The PCI-e clip locks over fine too. The fan is fitted centrally not at the back end of the card, this could be significant.
     
  11. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #11
    Isn't the plastic housing on the 5770 shorter than the one used on the 5870?
     
  12. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #13
    My ATI 5770 went in my 2008 MacPro without any problems.
     
  13. spindola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #14
    but is "flash it" ???? and not works with DVI, just VGA??? please help!!! I need a reemplace, see this please:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=12372904&posted=1#post12372904

    and see this guy sell it! but! it was flashed? and say that DONT works with DVI! so???

    http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Mac-Pro-ATI-Radeon-HD-5770-1GB-Video-Card-HD5770-/130449697027?pt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&hash=item1e5f686903

    please tell me, where do you buy and if you need flashed and if works with DVI, or how you do for work with your macpro 08, I need it !!!!! :eek:
     
  14. CHSeifert, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #15
    Sorry for my MacPro ignorance but can I get the new Radeon Sapphire 6970 2 gb ram card pci express and just put it in my upcoming MacPro - just as long as I flash the bios on it to make apple think it's one of their 'own' cards ???

    In that case I feel like I'm almost building a PC. Anything from ram, HDD, SSD, GPU and CPU can be upgraded to standard PC stuff :)

    Only the logicboard and the psu is a hard nut to upgrade then.
     
  15. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    No.
     

Share This Page