Replacing MB Screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ghking, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. ghking macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    Hello
    I found this macbook 2 ghz on Craigslist for $200. But it has a broken screen. How hard are these to replace? Can i just buy one on ebay and mount it my self? And about how much would it cost total?
    thanks
     
  2. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #2
    Not that hard to replace the LCD, lots of screws for sure. You can buy used LCD screens from ebay for $100 - $200.

    It is easier to replace the entire LCD with panel (hinges,bezel etc..). You would be looking at approx $200 - $300 on ebay. I have an extra LCD with panel, if your interested.
     
  3. Billy Bob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3

    It's not too bad to do, I expect a lot of people are going to be having to do this in the future because the screens crack very easily and apple chargest almost as much for a new macbook as it does for the screen being replaced. I replaced mine for around 250 dollars and it works perfectly. There are also places that do an overnight screan replacement and an over night return quite reasonably as well. Just do a good search
     
  4. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    i do this for a living... well part of what i do

    i personally buy mine from a guy called LaptopScreen1 on ebay

    never had a problem... and they come with instructions
     
  5. ghking thread starter macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #5
    alright thanks for all the info guys. eman ill get back to you about that screen after I go see the macbook
     
  6. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #6
    Does the advice on this thread and costs apply to MBP also? My wife's 3/2007 15" 2.16ghz MacBook Pro's screen just got damaged when it was closed with earbuds still on the keyboard.

    Trying to figure out my best options now.

    There's a screen on ebay here for $150 starting bid/$189 buy it now:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130175019906

    But there's also a fully assembled display here:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320184874674
    .. and I saw eman comment on that being easier to install:

    Also wondering if maybe I Could take advantage of this opportunity to get a better screen or something in there?

    It's no problem to no longer have glossy right?
     
  7. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #7
    I thought I'd post an update on this to help out anyone who runs into the same problems of a broken screen.

    I ultimately ended up winning the auction here:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=320184874674&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=011

    which is the entire LCD Assembly which includes the screen and bezel for $360 + $20 shipping. I'm hoping I can do the switch on my own and I hope this doesn't void the warranty. Had I grabbed just the actual LCD screen, I could have probably gotten it for sub $200, but from what I've read on this thread, it's very tough to install just the LCD screen so spending the extra cash to get the whole assembly should be worth it.

    My wife went and met with the Apple Genius in Columbia, MD last week and the options varied from $1200+ to have the broken MBP sent out to be repaired vs. $800+ to have it repaired in store once they got the necessary part(s?). One of the interesting things was that it seemed that the labor involved was $135 in store so it MIGHT have been possible for us to have handled getting the screen on our own and having them install it, but I wasn't sure on how clear cut that was. Now that I have spent $360+ on the screen though, I'm definitely going to attempt to do the install on my own.

    I'll let you guys know how everything works out.

    Shahryar
     
  8. ghking thread starter macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
  9. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #9
    In case anyone's interested in my update, today I finally started doing the display replacement on my 15" 2.16ghz MacBook Pro.

    I'm following the guide here:
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro-15-Inch-Core-Duo/Display/85/7/

    Right now, I'm stuck on the step of taking out hard drive (this step here: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro-15-Inch-Core-Duo/Display/85/7/Page-7/Hard-Drive) because I can't get the screws out of the hard drive caddy.

    I used this assorted precision screwdriver set I got from walmart or radio shack. I have a #0 Phillips Screwdriver in this set, but found the flathead 1.4m/m (the smallest flathead in the set) to be easier to use. I honestly don't think I got any of the screws out with my #0 Phillips. Perhaps my #0 phillips is worn down.

    I guess officially I need the Phillips #0, but I think I might try this other suggestion I saw in this other recent thread which suggested to use a T-8.

    If anyone has any advice, please let me know. I'm also wondering if my wife might be able to swing by the Columbia, MD Apple store tomorrow while I'm at work and get a Genius to just help in taking out those two screws.
     
  10. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #10
    I've never ripped the HDD out of a MBP; but the screws heads on a macbook are a T-9 and a T-8 will work also. Just pickup a cheap $2 set of torx bits. Home Depot carries a screw driver with torx bits and the model number is "HD-74502 v".
    Good luck!
     
  11. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #11
    Hi,

    No point in going to Apple store. You're just using a wrong type of screwdriver.

    For the HD caddy in MacBook Pro (15" and 17") you need not the Phillips #0 (which you're using for the rest of the case), but hexagon T-6 Torx screwdriver.

    As I've already mentioned, these two screws are fixed quite tight, so be sure not to use another type of screwdriver, as you can damage the screws.

    If that's already the case (I mean, if you'd tried to unscrew it with Phillips #0), you might need a bit bigger size -- like T8. So take a few just in case.

    These screwdrivers are very common ones, you'll find them in any specialised store.

    Good luck,
    sash
     
  12. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #12
    Does anyone know what I should do about replacing the yellow/orange tape that I'm messing with during this display screen swapout?
     
  13. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #13
    Damnit,

    I just got back to doing the install using the screen that I bought off of ebay and realized that it's not compatible with my 15" 2.16ghz Core 2 Duo (bought in March, 2007). (Here's the link to the auction in case anyone's interested: http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320184874674).

    The difference is that with the Core 2 Duo model, (1) there are 3 cables for the airport extreme card as opposed to two in the Core duo mode, and that the (2) inverter cable is different.

    I'm not really sure what to do now. I had shot an email to macsales a while back and they had replied saying they would fix the screen for $495. So maybe I'll follow through with that. I'll post here and let you guys know what happens.
     
  14. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #14
    Dude, keep in mind the costs as you go about repairing this thing. All things considered, you can find a perfectly good refurbished MB for $900 online. There's a point where pouring money into a broken machine no longer makes sense from a fiscal standpoint. Watch the dough.

    http://lowendmac.com/deals/best-macbook-prices.html <--good site for MB pricing.
     
  15. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #15
    Well, this was a 15" 2.16ghz MBP that I bought back in March, 2007. It was $1800 when I bought it. The good news is that the person who sold me the LCD display is accepting a refund so I'll get the $360 that I paid for it back.

    The macsales people will do the repair for $495 + 10% student discount fee. I think that makes it worth it to fix, no?
     
  16. geissap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #16
    Display assembly was definitely the way to go GJ on that one. I'm trying to think back when I repaired these. I don't think there's any need to take out the HD. I don't understand why ifixit is saying to do so. I'm about 95% sure you don't need to remove the HD to get out the display assembly.

    There's 4 t6 screws that hold that display assembly to the bottom case, and some disconnecting of cables and that's about it.

    The tape that your pulling off is just a non static, non metallic tape called Kapton Tape. Probably pick it up at fry's or any electronic circuitry type store.
     
  17. notengolegs macrumors member

    notengolegs

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #17
    You don't have to take out the hard drive to take off the display assembly. %100 sure, you dont.
     
  18. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #18
    As per the ifixit guide, For removing the C2D display, you don't need to disconnect the hard drive or the optical drive, but for removing the Core Duo display, you have to. This is according to the ifixit guide though.
     
  19. geissap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #19
    I think there wrong bro. I've done both. The only difference between the two which you pretty much already found is the 3 antennas and inverter cable being different. I can't think of anything that routes near the HD or any reason whatsoever to do so.

    And just in case you miss it in the other thread. You said now that you got it back together the white light is just flashing on the front. That's almost positively RAM. Reseat your memory. Make sure you press hard and get it in there nice and tight. Zap the SMC while your at it to. Disconnect power, battery and hold that power button for 10 seconds.
     
  20. notengolegs macrumors member

    notengolegs

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #20
    If the white light is just flashing, how many times do you see it flash and/or hear a beep?
     

Share This Page