Replacing MPB memory

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HelenAllen, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. HelenAllen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    MBP C2D 17" 2.33GHz

    I now have 2GB of memory total and have bought a single 2GB so I can upgrade to a total of 3GB.

    The memory came from OWC with very good instructions. I read them, as well as those from Apple, and both say to shut down the computer and remove the battery. There is no mention of removing the power cord.

    Should the power be removed, or should this be done with the power connected?

    Another question not addressed by either: does it matter which slot the different memory goes in, i.e., can the 2GB be top and the 1GB at bottom, or should it be the other way around?

    I'd really appreciate help with these questions.
    Helen
     
  2. emac82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    #2
    Yes, you should remove the power cord.

    And make you ground yourself, don't be standing on carpet, I usually put my laptop on a wooden table, or something like that..
     
  3. HelenAllen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Thanks for your response. I have also been pointed to a very helpful Apple KB article:
    <http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303491>.

    That is in strangely stark contrast to their "manual" on memory replacement, which omits much information:
    <http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/MacBook_Pro_Memory_DIY_Replacement_Instructions.pdf>.
     
  4. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #4
    I don't get what's so different about the two guides. Are you referring to the 2GB chip to 1GB chip placement? or procedure? Maybe I'm just jaded because I wouldn't bat an eye about busting open a computer to upgrade memory or a hard drive. I guess I've been doing it too long.
     
  5. HelenAllen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    In the .pdf document, I could find no reference to removing the power cord from the computer. Though it might seem obvious to many, there surely are those to whom this would not occur. I remember, also, that in doing certain things inside the MMD G4, one it told to leave the power connected. (I cannot remember specifics at this time.)
     
  6. tmoney468 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #6
    I find it hard to believe that any computer maker would suggest leaving the power connected when you're adding/removing components.
     
  7. bijou macrumors regular

    bijou

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #7
    It's just common sense to remove a power cord before opening up the inside of any computer. Perhaps OWC shouldn't assume everyone has this?
     
  8. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #8
    You never know who needs to perform an emergency defibrillation. Leaving the power cord plugged in is a good way to get one.
     
  9. chris315 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #9
    lol. take out your power cord and ground yourself, like it was already mentioned
     

Share This Page