macnewbie86

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 3, 2014
Hi everyone. So I have a MacBook Pro 2013 (128gb) and an iPad Air 1 (16gb). They’re both getting a little old and memory is too small. I held onto my MBP over the years because I was in computer science and needed it for coding, but I recently switched to English and now I only need to type essays.

I am also a musician and record demos with Logic. It was fun playing around with logic, but I think it’s overkill for what I need. I recently started using my iPhone 6s plus for recording songs with garage band, and although it’s not as feature rich and I occasionally miss the keyboard shortcuts and mouse, I like the iOS garage band a lot.

In short, the new IPP (256gb) 10.5 or 12.9 is tempting to replace BOTH my MacBook Pro and iPad Air 1, but I’m worried I will regret the switch. Here is a list I’ve made to help me make the decision.

Reasons NOT TO upgrade and switch to the iPad Pro 10.5/12.9
  • I won’t have my 25” external screen when typing essays
  • I may have issues with Blackboard software/website on the IPP (concerned about uploading/downloading my essays and power points from professors)
Reasons FOR getting an iPad Pro 10.5/12.9
  • mac OS code is getting sloppy and less secure (i.e. signing in as “root”. I know it’s been patched, but It just doesn’t seem like apple care about Macs as much anymore)
  • Updates to the Mac OS operating system just don’t seem as significant and feature rich compared to the ipads
  • I can focus better on what I’m doing when working(yes there is now multtasking on iPads but it’s not as distracting as the macbook”)
  • want to start learning how to draw down the road (apple pencil)
  • It was nice fooling around with Logic on my MacBook pro but ultimately it’s overkill for what I need. I’ve recorded some songs with GarageBand on my iphone. I can’t manipulate audio files the same way, but I only make rough demos anyway.
  • more portable