Replacing old HD with SSD and Hybrid Drive, Need Help!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Molten Minds, Sep 22, 2013.

  1. Molten Minds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #1
    I have a 2008 Mac Pro I am running OSX 10.7.5

    My old 1tb 7200 rpm drive has started doing some quirky things, so I decided to upgrade to a 240 Gb SSD for my OS and App's, and I would install the 2TB Hybrid drive to hold the home folder with movies, pics, music. So I formatted my 2TB disk in disk utilities.

    I copied, by dragging and dropping my home folder from old drive to new 2TB, I went into system preferences, under User/Group created a new user at the administrator level, and set the new user to open at login.

    When I restarted it was the old galaxy screen, the dock had moved back to the bottom and it was set up different.I also can open Iphoto or itunes and they are empty, "The folder “Pictures” can't be opened because you don’t have permission to see its contents", and the same goes for Itunes, I haven't tried FCPX or the Adobe Products I use. I am also getting a keychain error for Safari.

    "So, I think well I probably just need to set up my ssd with my OS and App's so the new disk can see my prefrences", so I format, use Carbon Copy Cloner, deselecting, under the User tab, my old User and the New user I had created for the new 2TB drive, because I have no room for it on the 240 GB drive. And, I deselected some apps I didn't want to come over. I cloned it, changed my start up disk in my preferences, and restarted.

    I still get the same thing when I logged into my new 2TB Drive. I am planning on keeping my old drive for archive, and I also backed up to an external using Time Machine before I started messing with the new drives.

    Please Help!

    Mac Pro 2008
    OSX 10.7.5
    Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.5.8), Molten Minds Productions
     
  2. mdelrossi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    #2
    Reformat the SSD.
    Carbon Copy Cloner the original drive to the SSD.
    Set startup disk to SSD
    Restart.
    Use computer.
     
  3. Molten Minds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #3
    I can't clone the whole original drive because I have 700+ GB on that drive, and my new SSD is only 240 GB, I bought it just to be a boot drive with OSX and App's.
     
  4. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #4
    Might try installing a clean OS X on the SSD, then use the Migration Assistant program to copy your profile and applications over. I've done that before and it tends to work well.

    You can de-select certain things (like documents) depending on storage space limits, but those can be manually moved later.
     

Share This Page