Replacing one of the two HDs on Mac Mini 2011 server with SSD?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ejosepha, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. ejosepha macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #1
    I am thinking of getting the Mac Mini Server and would like to know if it is fairly simple to replace one of the two internal drives with a SSD. I've seen the OWC installation video when one is replacing both HDs, and also the video on replacing the single HD in the mid-level Mac Mini (which looks quite simple and something I would be confident doing, as opposed to the real tear down involved in replacing both HDs in the server). Is it pretty much similar if I am just replacing the one HD closest to the RAM..that is the bottom of the Mini?
    I would be using the SSD for OS and the other disk for storage.
    Also, can I run the OS from this bottom SSD or does the firmware require that the OS be run from the top HD?
    Thanks
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    I would assume it would be as easy as taking one out and replacing it with the SSD, as they are the same size.
     
  3. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #3
    Very easy. Running two 2011 Mac Mini Servers with 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 MIs as boot drives with 750GB WD Scorpio Blacks as data drives.
     
  4. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #4
    You can choose either disk to be your boot drive. It's your choice.
     
  5. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #5
    You may be able to do the swap by only removing the bottom drive. It will take a spludger to remove the tape connecting the SATA cable and a little jiggling. However, I recommend a full tear down to ensure the SATA cables are connected and seated.
     
  6. RealEvil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #6
    I have done this too - a Crucial M4 256GB (fw 009). It was *quite* easy to do but the Mini is a tricker to work with than a MBP. I just replaced the top drive (which was the boot drive) and then did a Internet restore. Note - make sure you have a USB keyboard handy... I did not and had to buy a £5 windows keyboard.
     

Share This Page