Replacing PATA hard drive in old LaCie enclosure - what am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by superleccy, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #1
    Hi

    I have an old (2004) LaCie triple interface hard drive that has (usually) served me well all these years. I decided to replace its 250GB Maxtor PATA drive with a new 500GB WD one. I thought this would be relatively straightforwards. But it doesn't work.

    The new drive works fine, because I tried it in an old generic USB enclosure, so no worries there. And the LaCie enclosure still works fine with the old drive. It just seems to be the combination of the LaCie enclosure and the new drive.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I've all out of them...

    Cheers
    SL
     
  2. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Was it a RAID enclosure? Perhaps the 250GB has a weird formatting.
     
  3. superleccy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #3
    It is just a single-drive enclosure, so I guess it's not RAID.

    Cheers
    SL
     
  4. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I've heard some very strange things about external LaCie drives, such like no replaceable drives due to custom firmware on the stock drives.

    Maybe that applies here as well.
     
  5. superleccy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #5
    Sigh. I hadn't heard that myself, but what I am experiencing appears to uphold that theory.

    I've just put the old 250GB drive in the generic USB enclosure. It shows up in Disk Utility, but won't mount. It only works in the LaCie enclosure.

    I guess, therefore, that the drive that shipped in the LaCie enclosure wasn't as generic as it looked.

    SL
     
  6. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #6
    You could ask LaCie about it? They might be able to clear up compatibility issues for you.
     
  7. superleccy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #7
    Doubt it. LaCie often seem to be reluctant enough to support their own products. I doubt I'd get much help with what is basically a 3rd party modification.

    SL
     
  8. superleccy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #8
    Well, I fixed it.

    The problem was this: I didn't re-assemble the unit properly, and as such shouldn't be let loose with a screwdriver ever again.

    Works like a dream now.

    D'oh.

    SL
     

Share This Page