Replacing the Back plane of 2012 Mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mostafiz28, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. mostafiz28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #1
    So, my 2012 mac pro has a bad logic board and needs replacing. I am looking for help replacing it. Should I get a used 2010 mobo or should I be looking for a 2012 working pull. I can't get a new one cause that costs almost as much as a new computer so I am looking at used ones. So here are my questions.

    1. Will a 2010 logic board work in my machine?
    2. If I get a 2010 logic board, will my Mac pro be identified as a "Mid 2010".
    3. Will the serial number also change?

    Thanks in advance guys.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Any 2010 / 2012 should work.

    If I were you, I will simply transfer the CPU Tray (if the new one is weaker), PCIe card, and HDDs to the new one, rather than swap the logic board.

    And keep my own one as the "backup parts" (e.g. PSU).

    I am quite sure that the serial number follows the logic board. So, no matter how you fix your problem, the serial number should change (unless you can fix the logic board itself).

    The ident "Mac Pro 5,1" is everything at this moment, there is no difference between 2010 and 2012. The "about my Mac" is totally cosmetic and can display whatever you want. Of course, Apple can artificially stop supporting 2010 Mac Pro on the next OS upgrade but keep the 2012 supported. However, IMO, the chance is quite low. If you really worry about that, of course you can get a used 2012 Mac Pro.
     
  3. mostafiz28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #3
    ^^^^^^ Thanks for the info h9826790. I am not looking to replace the entire machine though, just the logic board. But I am clear on a few points from your post such as- I can use a 2010 logic board with no issue. But it will show up as "Mid 2010". That probably is not an issue right now but down the line it can be though the chances are slim. As for fixing the logic board, is that even possible? Thanks again for your help.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    About fixing the logic board, that's practically impossible. Even the first step "clarify the faulty component", without Apple's help / proper diagnostic equipment, it is already almost impossible.

    I suggest to swap machine but not the logic board because that will give you practically the same result in real world. And with much less work to do. Also, reduce unnecessary maintenance action, can effectively reduce the chance that you accidentally damage something else.
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    Of course it's possible. Backplane and CPU tray as well. Without Apple's help. Requires knowledge and gear but totally possible. My friend in his workshop did many of them. But he's an electronical engineer ;)
     
  6. mostafiz28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #6
    Ton of info I am getting here, I really appreciate it.
    I understand your point and its a logical one. But buying a cMP at this point is something I will have to think about. Just getting a logic board and having it replaced by a technician seems less costly to me. I will be keeping an eye on ebay though, for a 2010 mac pro. I will have to fix this thing one way or the other cause right now I am using a PC for my work and I simply don't like it. Thanks for your help guys.
    I wish I had a friend like yours :(
     
  7. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #7
    If youre located in europe I have a 2010 board to give away...
     
  8. mostafiz28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #8
    My brother lives in the UK and I was watching ebay so I could tell him to purchase a board for me. However, if the board can be posted to him by, I will get it from him. If you could please provide me a bit more details on where you live and how can we get this one posted to him, that would be great. I can give you his details and phone number and may it will be easier that way.
     

Share This Page