Replacing the main HD on the Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SHNXX, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. SHNXX macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #1
    I'm looking to replace my old 1TB hdd on my Mac Pro.
    I've added hdd before but never replaced the main one.
    What are some pitfalls I should be aware of?
     
  2. Fastsavage, Nov 13, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    Fastsavage macrumors member

    Fastsavage

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    #2
    No dramas really - just take a back up of your old HDD - or use Time Machine and then format and transfer your data over - easy...
     
  3. Michael73 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    #3
    I've done this twice, both times increasing the drive size along the way. Each time I inserted the new drive into sled 2, 3 or 4 and formatted it. Once complete, I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the boot drive to the new drive. Depending on how GBs (or TBs) it could take a bit but as Fastsavage said, it's easy.

    FWIW, Time Machine works too.
     
  4. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #4
    Agreed with all of the above. Pretty straightforward, as long as you run a backup of your existing disk. CCC or SuperDuper are good if you don't have an install disk(c) handy.
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    Remember that the sleds are set up for a 3.5" drive (either a typical HDD or a 3.5" SSD like the old Vertex2 drives) but you can easily get a 2.5" version of the sled from the likes of OWC if you are planing yo use a SSD of, say, 256Gb or so. They have the OWC Mount Pro.

    The current favourite SSDs seem to be the Samsung 840 EVO or Pro.

    Pop it in a spare sled and let CCC do its work, pull the old one and you are done.
     
  6. Phildo macrumors member

    Phildo

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #6
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    Actually, IMHO, the best cloning software is the Restore command in Apples's Disk utility.

    Lou
     

Share This Page