Replicating Standard User's FS.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by CMXIV, Jul 19, 2011.

1. CMXIV macrumors newbie

Hello.

SO, I'm new here, and am probably posting in the wrong forum, but I would like to as you all a question.

I am a repair technician at a local computer shop. We mainly work on PC's, and not Macs, due to another Apple store being too close to us. (We're competition, apperently)

The few macs we do get in to work on are usually data recovery. I have seen many times a mac would come in and need data taken off of it.

If we had a mac instore for utility, not much of a problem, right? Well it starts here.

All of our machines are Windows, ntfs, and macs are hfs or hfs+.

Windows does not support reading hfs+. There are several programs in windows that advertise being able to read hfs, but i have never had very good luck with them. Either they are extremely slow, or take inaccurate data.

I think i can find an develop a way of retrieving data, (currently I am exploring linux alternatives. the 'dd' command is current. (i use linux primarily, personally))

My data recovery/transfer methods do post results, however many times it seems directories are copied as 0 byte files, thus not capturing any of the data within.

What I need from the community is a way of creating the mac files as if I had a mac system. Either that, or an image of a mac drive, in a non-dmg format.

I will use this to test various ideas for copying.

I realize y'all may not be able to provide a whole lot of support here, but any is welcome..

Thanks.
    Willmac

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

FAT32 (File Allocation Table)
    • Read/Write FAT32 from both native Windows and native Mac OS X.
    • Maximum file size: 4GB.
    • Maximum volume size: 2TB
    NTFS (Windows NT File System)
    • Read/Write NTFS from native Windows.
    • Read only NTFS from native Mac OS X
      [*]To Read/Write/Format NTFS from Mac OS X: Install NTFS-3G for Mac OS X (free)