Repo Removal

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by brguest, Jan 22, 2011.

  1. brguest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #1
    Each time I start Cydia, it gives me an error message about an invalid repository. Typically, I would just edit the "Sources" and get rid of it, but in this case, it's not listed there! How can I get rid of it and stop the annoying error messages?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Dhelsdon macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #2
    I have the same issue with two repo's - here's a screenshot.
    I am thinking maybe we'll have to ssh and delete some files or something but I have no idea.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  3. the diego macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    #3
    You can SSH into etc/apt/sources.list.d and delete the source. Reboot and reload Cydia and it should be gone.
     
  4. brguest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately the offending repo isn't listed in that directory. Any other ideas?
     
  5. Dhelsdon macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Same here, that directory only lists default Cydia repos no custom repos.
     
  6. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    There are more locations you need to purge repo information from in order to get it working.

    I had a page bookmarked on eviliphone but the link is now dead :confused:

    I'll see if I can dig up the info elsewhere.
     
  7. ACardAttack macrumors 6502

    ACardAttack

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #8
    Im not having any luck with this one, like im in mobileterminal...but when i follow the directions ive seen online...it never prompts me to put in a url though
     
  8. Dhelsdon macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    That would be great if you could find it!

    I couldn't get CyFix to install. I keep getting a failed buffer_write error ughh
     
  9. Lycanthroat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    +1 from me as well. Cyfix doesn't seem to like 4.2.1.

    Stupid repos >: (
     
  10. Peppe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Qld, Australia
    #11
    Woohoo I worked something out!!


    I had the same problem, my dodgy repo,s weren't there either.
    But follow Diego post.
    SSH (i used iFun on PC) into etc/apt/sources.list.d then open cydia.list and I found my offending repo's in there.
    I then copied (and renamed a copy of the original in case) cydia.list onto my desktop, edited using notebook removed the bad repo and replaced cydia.list and Voila :D
    I'm rather proud of my self:p:p

    Pep
     
  11. ACardAttack macrumors 6502

    ACardAttack

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #12
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bC8CNTcMAVE&feature=related

    This video...namely the list of the repo in the description is what I needed to get it to work..the one you get from default repos didnt work for me, but insert the repo cydia.xsellize.com/ and one of the ones I got from there worked like a charm!
     
  12. indyzzzz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #13
    With this method, entire repos are removed. You cant fix just the part where certain files are missing. What if I dont want to remove the repo (since it still works, I can download files from it) but just fix the errors that pop up referencing that repo ? Errors like "NODATA1" and "NODATA2" or "packages.gz cant be found".
     

Share This Page