Req HOW-TO: Triple boot Windows XP, Windows 7 and OS X

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Styxie, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. Styxie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    Hi there,

    I'm currently waiting for my 2.93 GHz iMac with the Radeon 4850 GPU. I really want to be able to play good ol' Windows games, so I'm gonna install XP. However, I also downloaded the 32-bit Windows 7 Beta, and I'm wondering if I could triple boot Windows 7 with XP and OS X. Has anyone ever attempted this before? Can someone tell me how I would go about doing this?

    Thanks =)
     
  2. neilhart macrumors 6502

    neilhart

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area - Fremont
    #2
    You have a good question. I will watch for the answer.

    I went the VM route. I installed Windows 7 directly from the ISO using VMware Fusion. Performance sucks but it appears to be 100% functional.

    Neil
     
  3. yustynn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #3
    Hmm..what I did was to repartition the Windows hard drive into 2 more partitions, install Windows 7 on one of them and XP on the other. Now when you select Windows it'll ask you if you want to start Windows 7 or the "Earlier Version of Windows", which is XP.
     
  4. neilhart macrumors 6502

    neilhart

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area - Fremont
    #4
    Could expand of this? Are you on a single drive system (or Mac Pro)? What are the steps to create multiple windows partitions?

    Neil
     
  5. yustynn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #6
    Well, I created the second Windows partition using 7 itself, I think. You could use some random partitioning software (sorry, no recommendations). On my Mac side currently there's Macintosh HD, Untitled and Untitled 1. It works fine for me. Btw iMac core duo.
     
  6. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #7
    I unintentionally did this with Vista and Win7. It (Win7) moved Vista to the Windows.old folder in the root of the C:\ drive, so I am now presented with the option of booting to Win7 or Vista. I have not tried actually going into Vista yet, tho. I guess this is the easiest way to "Triple-Boot for dummies" :D
     

Share This Page