Require passcode immediately

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mtfield, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. mtfield macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    I read on the front page how others were having the proximity issue like I was and that if you did a reset of settings then it could fox it. So I went ahead and did that. I went in and started changing all my settings back and I realized that the only option I had for my passcode was to require it immediately and not after 5 min like I usually do. I've done some searching and saw that a google or exchange account could cause this.. But I only have mobile me.. So that can't be it.. The only other option I've seen is to do a complete restore.. Whig I'd really really like to stay away from. Does anyone have any ideas?? Thanks!
     
  2. BiomaxDDS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    #2
    Found the same results you did, ended up just doing a complete restore
     
  3. Rayfire macrumors 68030

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #3
    Same here, I was hoping they had the same settings as the Auto-Lock. Unless there's another work around that we don't know?
     
  4. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #4
    This is a known(?) bug in iOS4. There's a few threads where users have the same problem after a full reset. I suggest doing a backup BEFORE you do a reset.
     
  5. mtfield thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    It would take me far too long to get everything back up and running if I did a full restore... So I guess I'll just wait it out and hope that the antenna update fixes this as well...:confused:
     
  6. islandtitan macrumors regular

    islandtitan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    USA/Daniel Island/ South Carolina
    #6
    I Have Time Options

    I have the 3G updated to iOS4. I have several time options for the passcode, I also have AOL, GMail, and Mobile Me accounts.
     
  7. mtfield thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #7
    I was hoping 4.0.1 would fix this.. No such luck. Has anyone found absolution short of wiping the whole phone clean and Starting new.. That would take FAR Too long...
     
  8. alexberry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #8
    You can get the settings back by using the iPhone Configuration Utility - the details to this solution are on this forum somewhere...

    However, I did this yesterday after experiencing the exact same Passcode issue, and then this morning on my way to work I found all my iPod content is no longer there (apparently). Googling this issue suggests that use of the iPhone Config Util can cause this problem...

    It's a never ending succession of problems. My third iPhone since the 3G model, and I've never experienced anything like it!
     

Share This Page