Requirments for making a mobile phone cobtract in UK

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SmashedRocket, Jun 12, 2010.

1. SmashedRocket macrumors newbie

Hi @ all UK guys

so I'm going to UK in September and I'm planing to buy a Iphone 4.
    I will stay in UK for a year or two. Now I'm wondering about the requirments for making a mobile phone plan at VODAFON UK.

My Question:

I have a MasterCard. Will I be able to purchase my mobilephone plan with a credit card? Because I'm not interested in opening a UK bank account. In addition I have a german bank account at Deutsche Bank.

Excuse my English.... I'm going to UK for improving my English skills.. ;-)

Thank you,
    SmashedRocket

2. northy124 macrumors 68020

northy124

You need some kind of credit history plus proof of address and 2 forms of ID (AKA you need to be legal), be 18 and you need a UK Bank Account.

You can buy the phone on your CC/DC but not pay for the plan.

Also stay away from Vodafone, go O2 or Orange IMO.

3. SmashedRocket thread starter macrumors newbie

there is only vodafone coverage in my area.
    So i can't purchase the monthly cost with my credit card.?
    how long does it takes to open a bank account in uk?
    damn....

4. northy124 macrumors 68020

northy124

Highly doubt that.
    No you can't.

5. SmashedRocket thread starter macrumors newbie

I took a look on the coverage map of O2 and Orange and both had a realy weak signal and no 3G support.
    I´m out of nowhere.
    Why is Vodafon a bad choice?

6. ct2k7 macrumors 603

ct2k7

Where are you going to be, that you don't get good or even adequate O2/Orange coverage :eek:

7. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

Dragonforce

Well, I recently moved from Germany to the UK, London because I got a job at Square-Enix and I think I can give you some hints: