Price Advice Resell Value/Where To Sell

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by unloader, May 31, 2014.

1. unloader macrumors newbie

Total noob to these forums, so my apologies if this is in the wrong section.

I purchased a 13" Macbook Air last year and I'm thinking about getting a Macbook Pro. I've read in a lot of posts you guys talk about resale value, etc. I'm curious to know where you sell your old mac hardware? Do you just list it on ebay, craigslist, sell to a friend or what?

I'd like to think my 13" i7 is worth more than a $100 bucks, but I don't know much about apple resale values. Any help you can provide would be great! Thanks

2. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

Where to sell

You can get idea's of what your system is worth based on what a refurbished model of the same configuration would go for on Apples refurbished site. If you have Applecare that would be a plus.

When listing your MBA, complete configuration, pictures, how many cycles does the battery have. Just think of what you would ask if you were in the market for a used MBA and go from there. Keep in mind what you may think it's worth does not mean that other's will agree with you

As for selling on here I believe you'd have to have access to the marketplace forum, eBay , Craigslist "watch out for the obvious"

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

When I go about selling my Macs, I list them here in the marketplace forum (you need to be a member for 6+ months and have 250 posts) and craiglist.

I tend to avoid eBay though I may opt for that the next time. Every option has its own set of pitfalls. eBay has its fees, and scammers. Craiglist has its spam and scammers, plus its a smaller audience, i.e., you're executing a local sale.

The marketplace is good but the audience is much much smaller so you may have a harder time moving.

I list it both in CR and MacRumors Marketplace at the same time and that seems to work well enough.

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy