iPhone Reset content and settings after Jailbreak 'still boots with cable'

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Dreamliner330, May 2, 2013.

  1. Dreamliner330, May 2, 2013
    Last edited: May 2, 2013

    Dreamliner330 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #1
    I bought a iPhone 5 on 6.1. I jailbroke it using evasi0n, then decided to 'erase all content and settings' to start fresh as I didn't go though the setup myself. (I didn't know it would screw anything up)

    It got stuck about 75% through the restore meter. I held the power & home button and it booted up and brought me to the first boot menu.

    I walked though the menu just fine and set everything up. It went to the homescreen...which had Cydia.

    Cydia woudn't open (try and open then return to homescreen). So I powered down my device.

    Turning it on its just stuck at the Apple Logo. Held the power & home, screen went blank and then got stuck on the Apple logo again.

    When I plug in the USB cable it goes to the homescreen, which I'm at now...but Cydia still won't open.

    What do I do? I want to stay off 6.1.3, obviously.
     
  2. Dreamliner330, May 2, 2013
    Last edited: May 2, 2013

    Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #2
    Well now it boots fine after being powered down, but Cydia won't open.

    :mad:

    ----------

    I tried to rerun evasi0n for the heck of it and it says:

    ERROR: Your device appears to be using a semi-tether jailbreak. Please use the evasi0n untether package from Cydia to untether instead.
     
  3. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #3
    it is a BIG no no to click that erase all content and reset settings! it brings the device into an infinite boot loop

    to get this straight, you bought a iphone 5 on STOCK iOS 6.1, right? or did you purchase the device jailbroken already?

    assuming you bought it when it was stock iOS 6.1 you proceeded to jailbreak it with evasi0n. After you jailbroke it, did you open cydia and let it do its thing before clicking the erase all content and reset settings?
     
  4. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #4
    Purchased it STOCK 6.1

    Did not open it.
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    you should have pressed erase content BEFORE you jailbroke it. never ever press that button when you're jailbroken.

    because you did not open cydia, there might be a chance in saving your device (can't vouch that nothing major got messed up though; if you notice a big problem, then it's because you pressed erase content)

    here's the deb file for cydia v1.1.8: http://apt.saurik.com/cydia/debs/cydia_1.1.8_iphoneos-arm.deb

    try installing that and hope it'll fix your cydia (i'm not sure if it's possible but if it is, i think you need to ssh to install it)
     
  6. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #6
    :eek: I really wish it said this somewhere other than half way down the FAQ page, its not in the install notes or the program. Either way, my fault.

    doesn't ssh require a app from cydia? :eek:
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    never press erase content and reset settings and never update. those are pretty much the two things to remember to not lose one's jailbreak

    you can ssh via usb using ifunbox. i'm not sure about the ssh commands so you could try googling on how to install deb file using ifunbox
     
  8. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #8
    I installed iFunBox and dragged that deb file into the 'Cydia App Install' section and the status bar on the bottom flashed real quick. I then power cycled the device and nothing changed. I power cycled it again and still no difference.

    Also, somewhere along the line I picked up that 'Jailbreak' app on the phone from evasi0n. It doesn't do anything and I still cant open Cydia.

    Oh man, I really hope I'm just stuck somewhere and can recover this. :rolleyes:
     
  9. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #9
    After a handful of reboots, I still have an unopenable Cydia and Jailbreak icon.

    :eek:
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    I don't know what to say to you. I think the reason why you can't install cydia is because you don't have Debian packager and all the other packages in order to install deb files and run a jailbroken device.

    Are you still not able to rejailbreak with evasi0n? There's not too much else you can do right now sadly :(
     
  11. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #11
    No, it won't just gives me that error.

    What is the best way to put this onto 6.1.4 so I can sell it. I don't want to screw it up again. :rolleyes:
     
  12. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #12
    If you van get in to the file structure with ifunbox do the following

    go to private/var/root

    In the Media folder create a nwe folder called Cydia
    In the new Cydia folder creat another new folder called AutoInstall (mind teh Capital I)

    Put the cydia deb in the AutoInstall folder and reboot your device

    Try and see if Cydia now works
     
  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    you can try what trijethero suggested but if that does not work and you wish to restore it to 6.1.4 to sell it, then...

    1. put the device into DFU mode (the screen is entirely black, people mistake this for the recovery mode which shows the usb and itunes logo)

    2. plug the device to your computer, itunes will detect it in recovery mode

    3. click restore, let it download the respective ipsw and it'll process it and it'll be on 6.1.4 afterwards
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #14
    There are a couple of more tricks before a restore to 6.1.4 would be necessary
     
  15. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #15
    There is currently a folder in the Cydia folder called AutoInstall. Inside that is file "cydia_1.1.8_iphoneos-arm.deb". What do I do with that file and folders?

    I am all ears. :)
     
  16. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #16
    what suggestions do you have up your sleeve? :cool:

    ----------

    now just reboot your device and it should install the deb file
     
  17. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #17
    I deleted those existing folders and recreated them: /Cydia/AutoInstall

    Copied over the 'cydia_1.1.8_iphoneos-arm.deb' into the 'AutoInstall' folder

    'Device Safe Removal'

    Long press power and shut down.

    Turn on.

    Cydia still won't open, Jailbreak icon still on homescreen and /Cydia/AutoInstall still present containing 'cydia_1.1.8_iphoneos-arm.deb'.
     
  18. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #18
    Just about every time I install via the autoinstall folder, I almost always have to reboot twice for it to take effect. You might want to try this. It won't hurt. But for me, I can't remember the last time I didn't have to reboot twice when using the AutoInstall folder.

    I thought it was just something weird with me, but I read a guide on idownloadblog and in those instructions they also said to make sure to reboot twice. So now I always mention this in case it helps others like it helped me.
     
  19. Dreamliner330 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #19
    I rebooted a few times, once it held at the apple logo for a long time. Still no difference. :(
     

Share This Page