Reset Finder?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by OldMarketMeg, Dec 23, 2016.

  1. OldMarketMeg macrumors member

    OldMarketMeg

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Location:
    Omaha
    #1
    Is there a way to reset Finder so it is like it was out of the box?

    I am using El Capitan.
     
  2. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #2
    Hi,

    you can "reset" the Finder by deleting the preferences file.

    In Finder, menu bar, click on the "Go" menu, press the Option key, then click on "Library".

    In Library, go to the Preferences folder, move the com.apple.finder.plist file to the trash.

    Now log out (/Log out) and log in back : the Finder is "as new".
     
  3. OldMarketMeg thread starter macrumors member

    OldMarketMeg

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Location:
    Omaha
    #3
    I tried that, but after a reboot it doesn't quite look like it did when I first turned on my new Mac.

    It seems like the devices are showing more than it did originally.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 23, 2016 ---
    I decided to create an installation guide after I had started customizing my new Mac.

    I would like to get the Finder window, Dock and Desktop as they were right after I ran the Setup Assistant.

    Follow me?
     
  4. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #4
    Simplest way : create a NEW account (System Preferences / Users and groups).

    From this new account, take the screen shots you need, move them from the Desktop to the Shared ou Public folder.

    You then will be able to access them from your already existing account.

    You can switch from an account to another without login out : just use the "user" icon in the right end of the menu bar.
     
  5. OldMarketMeg thread starter macrumors member

    OldMarketMeg

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Location:
    Omaha
    #5
    Would deleting these files help me accomplish what I want...

    com.apple.dock.plist
    com.apple.finder.plist
    com.apple.sidebarlists.plist
     
  6. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #6
    Yes sure, but creating a new account would be much more helpful IMO.

    You could keep your existing account, and test what you want in the new one without modifying your own account.
     
  7. OldMarketMeg thread starter macrumors member

    OldMarketMeg

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Location:
    Omaha
    #7
    Yeah, I'm just scared of messing up my new Mac.

    I wish I would have thought of this when it was truly new!

    If I create a new admin account, could I do any harm to my Mac, or leave behind any junk that I would later regret?
     
  8. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #8
    No harm at all, and it is recommended to have more than one account, in case something goes wrong in your account.

    Also you can delete an account if you no longer need it : this erases ALL its content.
     
  9. OldMarketMeg thread starter macrumors member

    OldMarketMeg

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Location:
    Omaha
    #9
    Okay, I learned a few things. Thanks!

    But would you want two admin accounts? Wouldn't that be insecure?

    Normally I have an admin account and then a standard user account.

    In that case, how would that help me out?
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    OP:

    You are "thinking too much" about stuff that's really not important.

    You can always go to the "out of the box" look by creating a new account, as mentioned above, but…
    … why bother?

    Personal settings don't really change too much "down below"...
     
  11. OldMarketMeg thread starter macrumors member

    OldMarketMeg

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Location:
    Omaha
    #11
    Because I am writing a Mac guide and need to capture the before and after.
     

Share This Page